2011 Reading List

Here is to actually starting AND finishing all of the books on this list. “To ancient times and distant music!” Cheers! *as I lift my imaginary full wine glass up in the air to tink other imaginary full wine glasses of my imaginary friends while my husband stares at me like I grew and elephant trunk from my shoulder*

1. Why We Can’t Wait by MLK Jr.

2. The Republic by Plato

3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

4. Ideas and Opinions by Albert Einstein

5. The Rest is Noise: Listening to the 20th Century by Alex Ross

6. Cadillac Desert by Marc Reisner

7. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

8. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving

9. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (this one has been sitting on my night stand for about 7 months)

10. The Autobiography of Mark Twain by Mark Twain

11. Eats, Shoots, & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation by Lynne Truss

12. 1776 by David McCullough

13. The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks

14. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

15. The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World by Eric Weiner

16. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (I vow to finally finish this book this year)

17. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

18. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

19. The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester

20. On Writing by Stephen King

21. The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer (Read this in high school and had to write my own kind of Canterbury Tales, so much fun)

22. The Works of Anne Bradstreet by Anne Bradstreet

23. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

24. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

25. The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis

26. La Bella Lingua: My Love Affair with Italian by Dianne Hales

Okay, I think 25 is good to start off with for this year…I’m going to go get started now with Why We Can’t Wait. =)

5 thoughts on “2011 Reading List

  1. Pingback: On To Book #2 « The General Specific

  2. Pingback: Scratch Book #2 Off The List « The General Specific

  3. Pingback: Am I only on Book #4? « The General Specific

  4. There are some good books on this list and I want to re-read of mice and men. I remember it being good and sad but that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

