Delicious and easy banana pudding

I stumbled upon a recipe that could be the death of my size 2 jeans. I was cleaning out my closet, trying to get rid of clothes and purses that I didn’t use anymore and in the pocket of one of the clutches I was giving away I found the recipe for the amazing banana pudding that a nice lady named Mrs. Ruth from Gethsemane Baptist Church always makes.  I knew she had given me this recipe at my bridal shower, but I wasn’t sure where I had stashed it until then. Why was it tucked away in some random purse? I have no clue…probably to protect myself from it.

Image

Anyway, I decided to make it despite the danger it could possibly do to my waistline. It is day 5 of the banana pudding occupation and I am still managing to fit into my jeans. I have decided to share the recipe with the rest of the world..or at least with my readers. I got to looking around and it turns out that this is a pretty basic recipe for banana pudding. I am thinking of adding cream cheese to the next batch…which won’t be anytime soon..probably 3 years from now.

Image

Mrs. Ruth’s Banana Pudding

Serves about 12

3 packages instant vanilla pudding (the regular size, not the jumbo boxes)

5 cups cold milk

8 oz. container of cool whip

8 oz. container of sour cream

3 – 4 bananas for layering

1 box of vanilla wafers for layering

Mix vanilla pudding and milk in mixing bowl for 2 minutes on medium speed. In a separate bowl, mix sour cream and cool whip together and fold into the pudding. Layer the pudding with the bananas and wafers. I like to start with a layer of wafers, just so there is a solid bottom. Then, refrigerate until ready to serve!

Image

5 thoughts on “Delicious and easy banana pudding

  1. Pingback: Care-package therapy – November | The General Specific

Leave a Reply

