A healthy side dish: roasted red potatoes

I must say…I have been eating very healthy since I’ve been here in Arizona.  Partly to get back to my pre-baby weight, which has been reached and even beyond that! And the other part, the big one, is that I want to be healthy.  The funny thing that I’ve found about eating healthy all of the time is that you come to despise the thought of unhealthy, processed foods.  Maybe it’s just me (and Debbie, my mother-in-law), but the thought of a big, greasy cheeseburger sided with greasy fries makes my stomach turn. All of that oil would just weigh me down and make my stomach hurt.

One of the sides that I have been making a lot lately is roasted red potatoes.

I love experimenting with different fresh herbs and spices. These were tossed in about 6 tlbs of olive oil, sea salt, pepper, fresh rosemary, fresh thyme, and a little bit of paprika. They turned out amazing, however I didn’t get a picture of them after they were cooked because we gobbled them up so fast!

Just pop them into a 425 degree F oven and roast for about 35 minutes. So yummy and a very healthy alternative to things like mashed potatoes (that would normally be loaded down with butter and sour cream) or french fries.

Roasted Rosemary Potatoes

3lbs red potatoes, quartered

6 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary

1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme

1 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and toss potatoes. Once they are coated well with the mixture, spread the potatoes out on a large baking sheet lined with foil. Roast for about 35 minutes.

Before I wrap this up, I’d like to take a trip to Cutesy-ville!

Six and a half month old Milo jumping in his Jumperoo! Love this sweet baby.

Poor Kitsune has really taken a back seat ever since Miles was born, but I still make time for snuggles with my fur-baby.

Tomorrow is FRIDAY! Whoo-hoo!

7 thoughts on “A healthy side dish: roasted red potatoes

  1. Pingback: A healthy side dish: roasted red potatoes | MBS...

  2. Pingback: Weekly Dinner Menu {10/21 – 10/26} | Me + Three {and counting}

  3. Pingback: Feed Your Soul Too Friday Five - Steak & Potatoes - Feed Your Soul Too

Leave a comment