5 Easy Piano Pieces {for beginners & rusty intermediates}

I learned to read music when I was about 5. My Grandma taught me with this book, and this one, oh, and this one, too. I found that I had to keep playing regularly or I’d just revert back to a beginner stage. Of course, I have always remembered how to read sheet music, it was just the actual reading and playing that I would get rusty at. When we got our piano a few weeks ago I decided it would be a good idea to collect some easy pieces to help me get reacquainted with the keys. My husband has also decided that he would like to learn how to play, so these pieces are easy for beginners and intermediates like me who have fallen out of practice.

1. Moonlight Sonata by Ludwig van Beethoven

My sister suggested this one. I printed off the sheet music and mastered the first page that day. It’s pretty darn easy. Like I said, my husband is teaching himself {with a little guidance from me} and he’s already got the first few measures down.

Sheet music found here {they even have a level 1 & 2 so you can gradually work your way up!}

2. Waltz in A Minor by Frederic Chopin

I’m a little partial to Chopin. Not sure why he’s my favorite classical composer, but he is. This song is taking me a little longer, but that is probably due to the fact that I’m consumed with learning all 5 of these pieces. Still an easy piece to learn, though.

Sheet music found here.

3. Prelude in E Minor Op.28 No.4 by Frederic Chopin

This one is super easy, and it sounds beautiful, too!

Sheet music found here.

4. Für Elise by Ludwig Van Beethoven

This song gets on my nerves. I am not sure why, maybe it’s because my sister ruined it for me by playing it every waking hour of the day when we were teenagers! I mean, I still think it’s beautiful, but I need about a year in between listens. Anyway, it’s a pretty easy one to learn.

Sheet music found here.

5. Comptine d’un autre été by Yann Tiersen

Okay, so if you know this song and you’ve never tried to play it, you might think I’m crazy for putting it on this list, but it really is an easy piece to play! Just try it if you’re familiar with reading sheet music. Not only is is relatively easy, but it’s an absolutely beautiful piece. My favorite on this list, by far.

Sheet music found here.

If you’re in the same boat as I was and you need some easy pieces to get you back to playing like a pro, then try these out! Have a wonderful weekend!

6 thoughts on “5 Easy Piano Pieces {for beginners & rusty intermediates}

  1. Great choices. I started learning 5 years ago at the age of 30. The Amelie is one of my favourites that I play. The Chopin prelude is a beautiful one that I learnt a few years ago, and I am currently trying to polish the Chopin Waltz, As I learnt it last year but never finished it (I got distracted by Debussy’s ‘Girl with the Flaxen Hair’).
    Do you play any Ludovico Einaudi?

  2. I have the music to the one from Amelie, too, but I moved to England not long after getting it, so I never got to the fast bit :/ I really need to get a little keyboard or something to keep myself from getting too rusty. Hopefully James takes this hint to get me one!

Leave a comment