DIY Cinnamon Garland {DIY Christmas}

DIY Christmas

Welcome to the 2nd post of my DIY Christmas! Last week I made some Rag Ball Bulbs with cute little wooden snowflakes. This week, I’ve made a decoration that takes me back to my childhood – cinnamon ornaments {made into garland}! My house smelled amazing as these were baking.

DIY Cinnamon Garland

Cinnamon Ornament Recipe:

1 cup applesauce

1 1/2 cups cinnamon

Preheat oven to 200F.

In a bowl, mix together the applesauce and one cup of the cinnamon. Mix well with a spoon, then add the extra 1/2 a cup a little at a time until the consistency is right. You just need to be able to roll the dough out with a rolling pin, so that is where the consistency needs to be.

On a piece of parchment paper, spread some cinnamon and begin to roll the dough out to about 1/4″ thick. Use cookie cutters to cut out your shapes and place them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Use the end of a chopstick or a skewer or something like that to poke holes in the upper part of the shape(Make sure whatever you are using will make big enough holes for the string to pass through). Bake for 1 -2 hours, or until they are hard.

DIY Cinnamon Ornament Garland

Now your going to string your string through the cut-outs.  I strung together 8 {about 6 inches apart} at a time since I don’t really enjoy super long garland {it gets on my nerves to have to walk around and around the tree while hanging it}. I say wait to do the embellishments until after the string is finished because I had a bit of a hard time getting my twine to go through in one piece.  I made the mistake of not checking to see that the chopstick hole was big enough for the twine to move through, so I had to work around that.

Now you can add whatever pretty embellishments you managed to find. I found these textured sticker things at Wal-Mart {of all places?!}.  Let it dry before hanging on the tree.

DIY Cinnamon Ornament Garland1

Come back tomorrow for that Christmas-themed giveaway I’ve been talking about! And don’t forget to check out the other post from this series:

DIY Rag Ball Bulbs

3 thoughts on “DIY Cinnamon Garland {DIY Christmas}

  1. Pingback: DIY Rag Ball Bulbs {DIY Christmas} | Me + Three {and counting}

  2. Pingback: Winner of **November Etsy Giveaway** | Me + Three {and counting}

  3. Pingback: DIY Easy Christmas Stocking {DIY Christmas} | Me + Three {and counting}

Leave a Reply

