Sweet {and healthy} Cornbread

I love cornbread. I really love sweet cornbread, like the kind out of the Jiffy box! I remember, growing up, beans and cornbread was one of my favorite meals my mom made.  When we were little, she taught us to put our cornbread in a glass of milk and eat it like that, but I soon realized that soggy bread is a legitimate fear of mine (seriously, I have nightmares about soggy bread), so I quickly threw that idea out of the window and opted instead for a simple slice of butter. Yum.

cornbread2

Cornbread is definitely best prepared in a cast iron skillet, in my opinion.  I’m not a fan of the muffin tin or the casserole dish because you just can’t get those crispy sides without cooking the batter in butter for a minute or two before it goes in the oven. Oh, and sorry that half of it is already gone in the photos. It came out of the oven and the boys acted like I hadn’t fed them in days, so they attacked it.

So what sets this cornbread apart and makes it healthy, you might ask? Well, I simply replaced the vegetable oil with coconut oil, and the sugar with coconut palm sugar (a new favorite of mine).  I also use a good white flour, unbleached, organic, and unbromated, and an organic cornmeal (no GMO corn here!).  Of course, you can make this cornbread with all of the “normal” ingredients, but it won’t be healthy at all.

cornbread1

Sweet Cornbread

2/3 cup all-purpose flour (Bob’s Red Mill white flour is a good choice!)

1/2 cup cornmeal

3 tablespoons coconut sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons coconut oil (liquified) 

1 egg

1/2 cup whole milk

1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 400 F.

In a medium bowl, mix all ingredients together by hand until smooth and without lumps.

In a cast iron skillet, heat butter over medium-high heat, making sure that the butter covers the bottom of the whole pan. Add cornbread mixture to the skillet and cook for about 1 minute (I learned this from The Pioneer Woman, although she uses shortening instead of butter). Move skillet to oven and bake for 8-10 minutes.

**Note**I made this again with homemade almond milk and noticed that it was a lot more crumbly, so if that’s your thing, then there you go!**

I like to serve this with soup and crockpot dishes!

Cornbread

Enjoy your Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “Sweet {and healthy} Cornbread

    • Mine too! So glad easy substitutions like coconut oil and coconut sugar can be made. I am normally not a big corn eater, but I make an exception for cornbread. =) Thanks for reading!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Dinner Menu {11/11-11/16} | Me + Three {and counting}

  2. Pingback: Weekly Dinner Menu {11/18 – 11/23} | Me + Three {and counting}

Leave a Reply

