Blueberry cornmeal pancakes

It sure has been nice having my other half home with me and Milo. We are all unpacked and cozy in our new home in Yuma, and we are finally falling into place as a family. Of course, that will all be thrown up in the air and run over by a semi truck when Sam leaves for a few weeks to go back to Okinawa to check out! Just when we were getting comfortable…

I am getting used to running my own household again, only this time it’s so much more fun because we have this little person running around here. I’ve had tons of fun cooking every day for my little family! For Pancake Sunday I decided to make corn-cakes since I’ve been dreaming about the ones I had at Cafe Vida when I went to visit my sister-in-law a few weeks ago.  Sam normally doesn’t like sweet things for breakfast, but he LOVED these, so I have decided to make them, at least, a monthly thing in this house.

IMG_4300

 

I used the recipe on the backside of the Bob’s Red Mill Blue Cornmeal bag, since I’ve used many of these recipes and they have all turned out amazing. Regular cornmeal can certainly be used, I just thought this blue cornmeal would be fun since I was adding blueberries.

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

3/4 cup cornmeal

1 tsp. salt

1 tbsp. sugar

1 cup boiling water

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup milk

2 tbsp. butter, melted

3/4 cup whole grain flour (or white)

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Mix cornmeal, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl. Stir in the boiling water until all of the ingredients are wet, then cover and let stand for a few minutes. In a small bowl combine egg, milk, and melted butter. Stir milk mixture into cornmeal mixture. Combine flour and baking powder, then stir into cornmeal mixture until just incorporated. Don’t over-mix it! Fold blueberries into batter. If the batter is a little stiff, add more milk until it flows off of the spoon thickly, but smoothly.  Heat cast iron skillet over medium heat, grease with oil or butter, and spoon about 1/4 cup of the mixture into the pan.  You know to flip when the whole surface is covered in bubbles. Serve with pure maple syrup or fruit or peanut butter! Yum!

IMG_4299

 

I think I love corncakes more than I love regular flour pancakes. They have a little crunch from the cornmeal and a little more saltiness too, which pairs perfectly with sweet maple syrup!

IMG_4301

 

Next post will be about the new home, promise! Have a great Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

