Homemade Dog Food?

I think I may have had a mini-breakdown today. I was filling up Kit’s dog bowl for his breakfast and realized that I was almost out of Wellness dog food. I know that I can’t get anything as good as that here on this island, so I kind of freaked out and went into research mode for 5 hours, trying to find the best way to feed my dog so he will live as long as he can. I could order dog food online and pay an extra $19 in shipping for a $50 bag of food, or I could sacrifice a couple of hours a week and become a Super-mom (to a dog) and home-make all of his meals! I figured the cost per week (2 different meats, carrots, green beans, and some other veggies) would be no more than $5. That’s incredibly cheaper than purchasing dog food that WON’T kill my dog 4 years early. I got so excited about this new project that I purchased this cookbook, and this one too.

So, what’s so bad about commercial dog food, you ask? Well, would you feed your child fast food every day of their lives? Would you even feed them that junk more than once a week? I didn’t think so! Just like humans need healthy food to live long lives and look great, dogs need good wholesome food that doesn’t include euthanized animals or chicken beaks. Yes, that really does happen. Here is a great article on what exactly is in your dog’s food. They take the circle of life to a whole new level.

Some people might call me crazy for wanting to make my own dog food, but I call it good parenting. Kit is the closest thing to a child I have and I want him to live for a long time and have a happy life. I know when I do have children, I will feed them only natural and organic foods, no junk! Sam and I don’t even like fast food, (well, except for the occasional visit to Taco Bell) so that shouldn’t be a problem for us.

I would advise anyone who is concerned about what is in their pet’s food to do their research. I found some great articles, including this one from WebMD on the benefits of homemade dog food and also the benefits of purchasing the better dog foods, such as Wellness, Orijen, and Evo.

On to the treats! I decided to see if I had any dog-food making skills by trying this recipe for peanut butter treats. I got the recipe from here.  There are many great recipes on that website, so check it out if this is something you’re interested in. I also cut the recipe in half, just in case my dog, who is a very picky eater, hated them.

1 1/2 cup gluten free flour

1/4 cup organic, natural peanut  butter

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

Our commissary has, maybe, one organic food item in the whole store. So I couldn't get the organic PB, luckily they had all natural!

Mix the ingredients together and drop the dough in spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet. I decided to get a little creative with it and use my pastry bag.

Aw, Mom! Turn off the flash!

Kit, waiting patiently for his cookies to bake.

They came out exactly how they went it! Same size!

I think I'll send some to all of my parents for their babies!

Oh, and Kit loves them. At first, he spit them out, like he does every new food, but then, after staring at it for 15 seconds, he picked it up and and ate it.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Dog Food?

  1. I love the first picture of Kit! Even though he may be blinded by the flash he links like a well satisfied dog. I think its really cool that you make your own dog food. I wish I had more Martha Stuart tendencies!!

  2. Hey there! Okay, so you’ve inspired me to possibly try this myself. I’ve toyed with the idea for awhile (and hey – it’s not like I’m doing the 9-5 anymore so I don’t really have lack of time as an excuse), and the Orijen stuff is great, but SO expensive and I have 2 mutts to feed!

    Do you cook meat every time you feed them? I’ll have to check out those books.

    Also, I’ve been trying to find what brought you to Japan! Military? Okinawa? (I’d love to get stationed there.)

    • HI! Yes, my husband is a Marine. We have two years left here..It’s GREAT! But no good dog food. =( Yes, I do cook the meat. Some people do the raw food thing, but I don’t want to take that risk with my baby, so everything is cooked. I just got my first book in the mail and will be posting a recipe in the next couple of days!

Leave a Reply

