Babies and Book Ledges

Hola! I actually have a legitimate excuse for not posting for so long. I had a baby! Charlie Fay was born last Friday morning and she is absolutely perfect! I will post the birth story another day since I am still working on it, but I do have something pretty awesome to share today!

DIY Book Ledges

Sam has been busy on his paternity leave! I am so happy his job allows him some time off. It’s been really great for us all to bond with Charlie and for Milo’s transition into sibling-hood.  Sam built these amazing book ledges using this tutorial from Ana White’s website.  We were able to keep the $10 budget by splitting the 8ft boards 3 ways. The only thing he didn’t do was use a nail gun on the front ledge.  We don’t own a nail gun, so he just used wood glue to hold the front part in place.

DIY Book Ledges

Milo was just thrilled that all of his books have a home now. It’s more fun for him to pick which books he wants to read before bedtime with all of the covers showing.

DIY Book Ledges

I love these book shelves and can’t wait to hang some on Charlie’s wall, too! We also plan on doing some honeycomb shelving in her room to show off her girly trinkets.

Well, that’s all for today! Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

19 thoughts on “Babies and Book Ledges

  1. Congrats on the new bundle! The book ledges are a really good idea and a safer alternative to a book shelf that could fall on the child. I will definitely see what the fiancee says about this for our sons room. 🙂

  2. So excited for your new baby! Wishing you all the best. I’m a first time expecting father and started a blog to share my stories with the world. I hope you will check it out! And the book ledges are a brilliant idea! I’ll have to build some into my baby’s nursery.

    • Congrats!! Being a parent is awesome and I with you the best! I know my husband takes great pride in the projects he does for the kids and my son is just over the moon about the new addition to his wall. Thanks for stopping by!!

      • I feel like I will be the same way. Whatever I can provide for our child will be a huge sense of pride. Whatever I can do to make my kiddo smile. I hope you will check out my blog as well! It would be great to keep up with you!

      • I’m so thrilled to be a father! My wife and I went to home depot today to start some home improvement projects for when baby comes. Like your husband, I take so much pride in what I can do for my child. I hope you will continue to follow my posts! 🙂

  3. Congrats to you and your hubby on being parents again, and to Milo for being a big brother. Love the book ledges, awesome idea for kids books since they don’t have thicker spines like our books do, makes it harder to read those titles! I spy ‘Love You Forever’, my moms favorite book for all of her 6 kids. Congratulations again and hope everyone is well.

  4. Congrats on your new arrival! This is so awesome, thanks for sharing this. I have been on at my other half to put a shelf up for ages now. But these are much better than a standard shelf. I need to get him to make some for our baby boy!

Leave a Reply

