Learning to Knit: Knit Kits!

I have been aching to learn how to knit for Lord only knows how long now! I know there are a ton of free tutorials and videos all over Internet-land, and I’ve looked at a few, but I’m seriously considering investing some $$ into one of these awesome Craftsy classes. That, or take a night off from being mom, head to the local Chilis for a fruity drink, then hop on over to Joann’s for one of their knitting classes. I know what you’re thinking…”Whoa there, little lady!”

Really though, I’ve been super inspired by these little knitting kits I keep seeing on Pinterest and Etsy, so I thought I would share them here with you lovely people!

1. Oyster Gray Kit from Purl Soho – $62.00

Purl Soho

Purl Soho

2. Sleepy Owl Starter Knitting Kit from LittleKnitKitCo – $33.71

LittleKnitKitCo

LittleKnitKitCo

3. Hat and Hand Warmers for Beginners from Purl Soho – $62.00

Purl Soho

Purl Soho

Okay, so I only found 3, but that’s enough to keep the fire lit for wanting to learn how to knit! Hey, they rhymed! It’s also given me a great idea to do a crochet kit. That may be my next project on Me + Three!

Do you knit? If so, how did you learn? I always get excited when people say, “YouTube videos!” Gives me hope that I, too, can learn how to knit from those videos!

5 thoughts on “Learning to Knit: Knit Kits!

  1. My old boss taught me how to knit. It’s a lot of fun but I only learned the knit stitch and the purl stitch. I’d like to be better at it so I can make something a bit more exciting than a scarf! 🙂
    I think you will easily learn how to do it. It reminds me of crocheting in that you’re basically making a ton of knots.. I can’t wait to see your first project!

  2. I got a book and then found a troubleshooter who had years of knitting experience to ask for help only when I got stuck. Knitting is so easy, there are only four stitches: knit, purl, casting on, casting off. The only thing that us really hard is holding your needles and creating tension in the thread. That is a lot like crocheting. How is my grand niece? I dreamed of her and you last night. In my dream, she wad only one inch long. She crawled away from me when I was supposed to be watching her. I woke up tossing and turning as I was trying to find her in my dreams. Boy! Did I ever dread telling you I lost little Charlie.

  3. I learned to crochet sitting next to my grandmother. When I was expecting my son, I went to a yarn store and the owner set me up at a table and taught me. I bought my first set of needles, a pattern book and yarn from her store. From time to time she would tend to other customers and come back to check on my progress. I haven’t stopped since.

Leave a Reply

