DIY Easy Christmas Stocking {DIY Christmas}

DIY Christmas

Welcome back to Me + Three’s DIY Christmas! Sorry I skipped last week. I had made this stocking the day before I was planning to post it, but it totally didn’t work out the way I wanted it to, so I took a little more time, tweaked the pattern, added and subtracted a few steps and finally got what I had been going for!

Easy Christmas Stocking

Alright, so first of all, you can use any stocking pattern that you have. I drew up one of my own just because I didn’t feel like spending the money on one and I couldn’t find one that I liked on the internet. So, if you’d like to use mine, then you are more than welcome! Oh, and don’t mind the duplicated 4th page. It’s extra.

Christmas Stocking Pattern

Make sure that if you are using fabric that has a right side and a wrong side, that you flip the stocking pattern over to make the opposite side. I used some of the fabric leftover from my couch covers along with some pretty burlap interlaced with gold.  Also, if you are using burlap for the accent pieces, make sure your stocking fabric is heavy enough or just double up with a liner if it’s a super thin fabric. 

Materials:

stocking fabric and accent fabric (You could probably get 4 stockings out of 2 yards of fabric. You only need half a yard or less for the accent pieces).

Pellon 805 Wonder Under Fusible Web

Embellishments

Twine for stocking hanger and embellishments

Sewing and cutting tools (sewing machine, matching thread, scissors, pins, etc…)

So your first step is going to be to cut out the pieces. Don’t forget to use the toe and heel pieces to cut out the wonder under pieces.

Next you’re going to follow the steps on the wonder under and fuse it to the back of the accent fabric.

If you don’t have the directions then you simply put the rough side of the wonder under and the wrong side of the accent fabric together and press with a hot iron for about 8-10 seconds, or until it’s fused to the fabric. Next, damped a dish cloth or towel, peel the other side off of the wonder under, place on top of the stocking where it is to be fused to the fabric, cover with the damp towel and press with the iron for 10-15 seconds or until fused to fabric.

DIY Christmas Stocking1

Then it’s time to do a decorative stitch over the edges of the burlap toe and heel. You only need to do the stitch on the inside sides of the burlap because the other two sides will be hidden in the seam.  I switched my stitch to zigzag, set the length at 0, and stitched over twice.

Place the edge of the burlap right in line with the needle.

Place the edge of the burlap right in line with the needle.

DIY Christmas Stocking3

Next, cut 3 strips of your accent fabric that are about 2 inches wide, and the length of the top of the stocking (about 8 inches).   Lay one strip a the top of the stocking and sew, using about 1/4″ seam allowance (if you are sewing an embellishment on, like I did, then try to sew it on now. For mine, I just cut a 4″ piece of twine, threaded two cute snowflakes onto it and sewed it with the strip, then when I hemmed the top, I reinforced it by sewing it into the hem). Flip the strip up and measure about an inch from where you sewed the first strip. Sew your second strip there and repeat for third strip.

Now that the front of the stocking is finished, hem the top of the stocking. For the back of the stocking, cut a 4 inch piece of twine, loop together, and sew into the hem at the corner (this is the stocking hanger), about a half an inch into the stocking piece (the side that the heel is on). I did about 1/4″ hem on both pieces.

DIY Christmas Stocking4

Now you’re ready to sew the 2 pieces together. Simply lay the right sides together, pin, and sew, using a 1/4″ seam allowance (right in line with the edge of the presser foot).

Turn right side out, trim any random threads, press the stocking, and enjoy your handy work!

DIY Christmas Stocking

I know I normally do a weekly dinner menu on Monday’s but I’m only cooking tonight and tomorrow night for my family, so I’m going to skip this week and take some time to be extra crafty!! Have a wonderful Monday and don’t forget to check out the other posts from my DIY Christmas series!

DIY Rag Ball Bulbs

DIY Cinnamon Garland

2 thoughts on “DIY Easy Christmas Stocking {DIY Christmas}

Leave a Reply

