Persimmon Spice Cake {with orange glaze}

PScakelabel

I already mentioned that I picked up my first Bountiful Basket this past Saturday and I loved it! The only thing from the box that had me stumped were the fuyu persimmons! I know one can simply eat these as is, but I really wanted an excuse to bake something sweet, so to Google I went…and found nothing. I searched and searched for some kind of bread or cake that I could make but everything told me I had the wrong persimmons for baking!

Persimmon Spice Cake with Orange Glaze

Persimmon Spice Cake with Orange Glaze

Apparently hachiya persimmons are the fruits that normally go into cookies and cakes, but I still searched! I knew someone, somewhere had to have used fuyu persimmons in a cake. Then I found this recipe and I thought I can make this better! And that is exactly what I did! I kept the same methods, but exchanged some of the ingredients to incorporate the orange into the cake. I also used coconut palm sugar in place of the normal refined sugar and there isn’t one person in this world who would know the difference! Oh, and I used half whole wheat flour/half white flour just because I ran out of white flour, but that isn’t necessary. Just know that it works if you want to do that!

Take a look at that texture! Diced persimmons, chopped walnuts, and raisins. Delicious.

Take a look at that texture! Diced persimmons, chopped walnuts, and raisins. Delicious.

Persimmon Spice Cake

2 teaspoons baking soda

3 cups (about 6 persimmons) peeled, diced fuyu persimmon (or puree if you prefer to not have fruit chunks)

1/2 cup softened butter

1 2/3 cups coconut palm sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons freshly squeezed orange juice

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

zest from half an orange

2 cups unbleached, unbromated flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup rasins 

Orange Glaze

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

zest from half an orange

2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

Preheat oven to 350. Butter a bundt pan.

Mix baking soda and persimmons in a small bowl and set aside. Beat sugar and butter together until mixed, then add eggs, orange juice, vanilla, & zest and beat until fluffy, about 2 – 3 minutes on high.  Fold persimmon mixture into egg mixture. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt, cloves, cinnamon, & nutmeg. Mix into egg mixture just until combined, then fold in walnuts and raisins.

Pour mixture into bundt pan and smooth out with a spoon.  Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until toothpick is inserted and comes out clean. Meanwhile, whisk confectioner’s sugar, orange juice, and zest together in a small bowl.

When the cake is done, cool in the pan for 10 minutes or so, then turn out onto a platter and pour glaze all over.

Pieceofcake

This is a great fall cake! Next time I end up with persimmons, I am going to puree them to see how that works.

Persimmon Spice Cake with Orange Glaze

Persimmon Spice Cake with Orange Glaze

300x300sqButton_zpscce01df2

10 thoughts on “Persimmon Spice Cake {with orange glaze}

  1. Dropping by from the Fall Fancy Linkup! I’ve never made anything with persimmons and have no idea what they taste like. This bundt cake looks amazing!

    ❤ Vicki
    wildeinthekitchen.blogspot.com

  2. I have to confess, I had NEVER tried a Persimmon until last Fall! They are so delicious!! This recipe, especially the orange glaze, looks amazing! Thanks for linking it up at the Fall Fancy today! XO

  3. We LOVE persimmon cake! Our sweet friends have a persimmon tree and we get to reap the benefit of that. 🙂 Your recipe looks great!

  4. Pingback: Winner of **November Etsy Giveaway** | Me + Three {and counting}

Leave a Reply

