Upcoming Home DIY’s

I would like to apologize in advance. For the next 2 weeks, posts are going to be slightly spotty, but I will be back in full swing beginning the 21st.

Anyway, you guys know I like lists, right? I need to compile a good list for our upcoming furniture DIY’s.  My father-in-law has been building tons of pieces from the Ana White Homemaker website, including an awesome loft bed for Milo, so I am hoping to get Sam into the same hobby. He enjoyed building our console table, and thinks he’d enjoy other projects, so it looks like he’s getting saws and tools for Christmas! Haha. Anyway, back to the list…

Desk for our bedroom

We recently (like 2 days ago) decided to turn our guest bedroom/office/sewing room into a nursery for our new baby girl, set to arrive in January! That means I have to get rid of the bedroom furniture in there and do something with the sewing desk that I currently have. As much as I don’t want to do that, the only space to put a desk (which is a must for this house) is our bedroom. Thankfully, I found the plans for this beautiful piece!

Photo from ana-white.com

Photo from ana-white.com

We have decided that instead of painting it white, we will go for the steel wool/vinegar/coffee stain to give the wood an aged/rustic look since that how our bed looks. Of course I’m going to need an awesome, matching chair for this, right? I’ve chosen this one:

World Market $119.00

World Market $119.00

Dresser for bedroom

This one is up in the air now. I don’t like to have a lot of furniture in my bedroom. You will not find one of those weird matching bed/end table/dresser/chest combinations in my room. Just not my style. I like big, open spaces. Our bedroom is a pretty good size with a nice bay window. We have two empty walls, and I’d really like to keep at least one of them that way, so since we need to move our office space into our bedroom, I am still deciding on this (awesome) dresser.

Photo from Shanty 2 Chic

Photo from Shanty 2 Chic

Shanty 2 Chic is another great blog that I follow for all of my home DIY’s.  Check ’em out! Anyway, isn’t this dresser amazing? Love the finish and the little basket space underneath.  In the event that this dresser does happen in our house, I’ve chosen these metal baskets from Restoration Hardware for the space underneath:

Restoration Hardware - $59.00

Restoration Hardware – $59.00

Sewing machine storage

Something else that needs a space is my sewing machine and serger. I can stack my fabric and supplies in a closet, or better yet, I can probably make a sweet peg board to store everything, but I do need a table that I can fold up and stow away. Check out this little piece of awesome:

Photo from ana-white.com

Photo from ana-white.com

This table is perfect for my machines and even better because it will still give me the space to cut fabric and work with the extending tabletop.  Also, I don’t have to worry about destroying a tabletop with my deadly, super-sharp, sewing scissors and rotary cutter! Win!

I also have some plans for our raised bed garden, a potting bench for the back patio, and possibly a sofa for the back patio. It’s finally acceptable to go outdoors here in Arizona, so it’s the perfect time to get our yard together!

Have a great Monday!!

One thought on “Upcoming Home DIY’s

  1. Looks like you all will be very busy 🙂 That desk is going to be awesome. I think the rustic look with the metal chair will be killer (love rustic). I’m also looking at the same type of chair for our dining room (In desperate need). I’ve been looking at the Tabouret Bistro in white (http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Tabouret-Bistro-Steel-Side-Chairs-Set-of-2/7725495/product.html?searchidx=0) . Can’t wait to see your progress!!!!

Leave a Reply

