Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal

Monday through Friday I am really good about breakfast. I normally have a protein shake or fruit and eggs. Saturday and Sunday mornings are reserved for, what I call, a good breakfast. I always have something sweet for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Sunday is normally “pancake Sunday” but I have been skipping the pancakes and reaching for the oatmeal container instead.

Growing up, oatmeal was a totally different experience for me. Mom bought the instant packs and her favorites were the fruit n’ cream ones. So we grew up on packaged strawberries n’ cream or peaches n’ cream oatmeal. That is what I thought oatmeal was. Packages of instant deliciousness.

Of course they were too good to be true.

Not only are those wonderful little packages loaded with sugar and salt, they also contain some kind of powered cream and weird, dried up fruit and doesn’t look or taste anything like normal dried fruit. I don’t know about you, but I believe cream is best kept refrigerated and fresh…not powered, sitting in a package on a grocery store shelf for months and months.

Anyway, I knew my time with instant flavored oatmeal was up when I decided to ditch the process foods. Thank God, because this homemade version of Maple and Brown Sugar Oatmeal is way better than the packaged kind and it doesn’t use any sketchy ingredients!

Oatmeal

 

Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal

Serves 1. Double for 2 servings!

1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill thick rolled oats (or your favorite oats)

1 cup water

1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon maple extract

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon real maple syrup

*optional Butter and Milk

Bring 1 cup of water to a boil, add oats, vanilla extract, maple extract, and cinnamon. Stir and cook on med-low heat for about 10 minutes. When the oatmeal starts looking they way you like it (I like mine a little watery) then turn the heat off and cover for a few minutes.

Transfer to serving bowl and sprinkle brown sugar and maple syrup over the oats. Add butter and milk if desired! Enjoy!

Oatmeal2

2 thoughts on “Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

