Healthy Peanut Butter Banana Pudding {with Chia Seeds!}

Let’s talk about chia seeds! These little things are amazing.  I know some people refer to them as “super foods”, but I don’t believe in super foods. They are pretty awesome, though. Not only are they loaded with omega-3 fatty acids, but they are also packing fiber, protein, manganese, and phosphorous.  Now, I’m not a nutritionalist, but it doesn’t take a professional to know that we all need more of these things! I encourage you to read up on these little guys if you want to know more about them. I have heard that they have helped combat mood disorders, diabetes, and heart disease, but I haven’t looked for real research yet. I’m too busy enjoying this HEALTHY PUDDING!

PBBCSpudding

Chia seeds do this funny thing when they get wet. They swell up and have this weird, gelatinous coating around them and that is what makes this pudding work! You can add chia seeds to your breakfast shakes, oatmeal, yogurt, and pretty much anything. It is also supposed to curb your appetite, so you don’t put yourself into a food-coma.  Just be careful because you can get too much of a good thing in this case. They are packed with fiber, and last time I checked, too much fiber did hurt everyone..in the tummy area.

This recipe makes about 2 small servings or 1 big one because it doesn’t keep well for more than a day. If you want to make it the night before for breakfast, then I think that will be okay, but it didn’t taste so well after 24 hours.

Peanut Butter Banana Chia Seed Pudding

1 very ripe banana

1/2 cup (your choice) milk. I used whole organic cows milk because that is what I had.

1 (generous) tablespoon natural peanut butter

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons chia seeds

(taste after mixing and see if you need it to be sweeter, then add 1 tablespoon honey)

In a food processor or whatever kind of mixer you have (I have a ninja), pulse the banana, milk, peanut butter, and vanilla until everything is mixed and the banana is completely broken down. Pour the mixture into a bowl then stir in the chia seeds. I only advise against adding them in the food processor because there will be a lot of chia seeds that will stick to the wall, so you lose so many! Chill in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes to let the chia seeds soak up the moisture and swell. Then enjoy!

I wanted to share these outtakes from my attempts at photographing this stuff yesterday. Milo decided it was time for a snack mid-shoot. Haha.

Littlehand

Milo1

Don’t forget: Today is the last day to enter to win 3 handmade {by me}, crocheted washcloths! Just follow my blog here or on bloglovin’ and comment on the giveaway post! Have a great Hump day!

Leave a Reply

