Disconnected {Some Thoughts on Life}

I feel so detached from my life lately. I’ve gone through most of my adult life like this, forgetting to stop and soak up the moment and really realize what is going on, but since I became a mother, it has worsened. I am on auto-pilot most days, just going through the motions, never giving my undivided attention to any moment. I only realize this when my husband talks about something we did together last week or when I try to recall a memory he believes I should have involving our son. I really need to work on slowing down and being able to be in the moment and really soak it all up. I am missing out on so much. My son does new things every day and I can barely recall the details of some of the most important moments in his life to date, like when he first walked. I just can’t remember the details, only that he got up and walked! Thankfully my husband has a good memory, but I don’t want to keep living on auto-pilot.

Do you ever feel disconnected from life?

What do you do to bring yourself back?

 

7 thoughts on “Disconnected {Some Thoughts on Life}

  1. We all feel disconnected at times – that’s why we love movies like Ferris Bueller & vacations!!

    My summary of thought on this is that the more connected to God I am, the more present I am in life. For me, this varies daily & actually moment by moment.

    The more I ask Him to give me eyes to see what is truly important, ears to hear the wonders of the world & a presence of mind to soak it all in….He does. It’s the role of the Holy Spirit in our lives. He is our ever present counselor, turning our focus to the priority, the joy, the true life that is going on around us.

    p.s. – I know it sounds cliche, but I also journal – which helps me focus on the days events, my prayers surrounding them & what has happened that has been truly important.

    • Thanks, Rachelle! I journal too, which is another thing that makes me realize how much I missed. I think you’re on to something with the thought that being connected to God = being able to be present in the moment. I definitely need to work on that one.

  2. I,too, have lived most of my life like this. Though in my case, I tend to live in the future instead of actually LIVING in the present. Existing is the word I use. It’s easier to get sidetracked by little issues and let them consume you. What I try to do, like someone else said, is journal before I go to sleep, get it off my mind, so the next day is a brand new day. A day where you can actually look, listen, feel, hear, taste things that the day before, you might not have noticed. In my opinion it’s a little easier with kids around. They look at the world with such an open mind and just rejoice in it. It helps, too, with their silly little sayings! My niece always claims her little sis “slibbers” on her, because slobber or droll just makes no sense to her lol.
    Just remember, enjoy the little moments, they are often the most important ones at the end of the day!

    • Thanks, Ashley! Existing is a good word to describe it! You are definitely right about children, too. I find that when I get down on the floor with my son and really play with him, I feel like I’m back in touch. Thanks for reading!

  3. I suffered from this, too, especially when I was younger–your age. I can remember living in “Whatifland” and “Icantwaittobeville.” Wisdom comes later, but lost time cannot be recovered. It is good that you are contemplating this. I didn’t identify this as a problem for me until just recently. The one thing I have done just recently is develop an over-active sense of gratitude–down to the bare roots of your existence. I walk outside now and am thrilled with the little things–like a sweet scent in the air or the way the leaves are drying and make that September sound in the wind. I think: I can hear that or smell that and then I feel grateful for the one taste of reality rather than focusing on the entire bowl. Savor it–wait for it. I have been working on this next step for quite a while. When I am doing one thing, I put everything else down. I free my hands. I work on focusing on that that one thing is. I don’t look around. I look deeply into the face of the speaker (a real challenge for me). I turn and face squarely what demands my attention–no half-way. I speak directly and honestly especially when I am unable to give one person or job my entire attention, I say that. Those two keys–be overly grateful and stop and do one thing at a time until it is finished–helps me stay in the present.

    • I love this comment you left me, aunt Yvonne. It was helpful to me the first time I read it, and it helpful now, reading it over again. I love what you said about being grateful “down to the bare roots of your existence.” I did notice, too, the last time I was with you that you really did turn your whole body to face me when you were talking to me! Thanks for these suggestions, so full of wisdom and so helpful!

Leave a Reply

