It’s Grandparents Day!

I’ve been very blessed by having my grandparents around my whole life. Only recently have we lost my mom’s mom, and my great-grandma. Most people don’t have their grandparents around, or they aren’t a big part of their life, well into their 20’s!

photo copy 2

This handsome couple is my mother’s parents, Charles and Janice. I never got to meet my grandpa, since he died when my mom was about 10 years old, but my Mamaw was around until just a few years ago. We have lots of funny stories involving her. She lived with us a lot over the years so we got to spend a good deal of time with her. She always walked around mumbling things under her breath like “well, I swan!”.  She was a funny lady. She was always warning us about things and she would always start her warnings out in a really low voice saying, “ooh, amber….”  She died the month before Sam asked me to marry him, but we had been dating for a while and she thought he was such a handsome young man. I really wish she could be here to see the life we have made. She would be head over heels in love with Milo and Annabelle (my sister’s daughter).  I miss her so much, but I’m so thankful for all of the years I had with her.

photo copy 3

These two are my father’s parents, Bob and Sharon.  They are both alive and well and still a big part of my life. They have been a wonderful example to me and my cousins of what a marriage should look like, which is anything but rainbows and unicorns. I grew up close to their farm in Florida near two of my cousins. The four of us (me, my cousins, and my sister) would run around in the woods, building forts and exploring, what we thought was the wilderness. It seemed so big when we were so small. Anyway, occasionally we would do something completely idiotic like climb grandpa’s pear tree and we knew we were in trouble. He’d catch us, make us go back and pick a switch off the tree. We only did those things once, and we learned quickly to stay away from trees and bushes that had skinny, whip-like branches. Haha. My grandma only punished the 4 of us once. I can’t remember what we did, but all four of us were laughing when she lined us up, bent over her bed, and she pulled out a yard stick so she could take care of us all at one time. Haha. She always made us play outside, which I am so thankful for! She would give us a few old pots and some spoons and we’d go out on the front porch and play house all day. She also taught me and my sister how to play the piano and read sheet music, which is knowledge I will cherish forever.  I have been very blessed to have such a close relationship with them my whole life.

1001533_10201509095227084_1064928677_n

I feel that I should also include my great-grandma in this celebration of grandparents! She lived right down the road on the same farm, so we saw a lot of her.  We’d stop by her house sometimes on our way to her part of the woods. She lived through the Great Depression, so she had tons of canned food stockpiled in her house. My dad always told us not to eat anything over there since she like to keep food around a little longer than it wanted to stay around. Haha. She was a sweet lady, and I never fully appreciated having her around until after I was married and had Milo. She lived a long and full life and passed away just a month or so ago.

I am very blessed to have such amazing grandparents. I know many people have strained relationships or no relationship at all with their grandparents, so I definitely consider myself blessed in this department.

Happy Grandparent’s Day to all of mine! Thank you for being such a big and important part of my life. You all have helped shape me into the woman I am today. I love you all!

What are your favorite memories with your grandparents, or how have they impacted your life?

2 thoughts on “It’s Grandparents Day!

  1. I remember when we came in from school one day and Mamaw was sitting there watching Benny Hinn, and he was selling “holy water.” She was going to buy some, and I think we had to hide the phone to keep her from wasting her money! haha. She always did think he was for real.
    My favorite memories of Grandma’s and Grandpa’s house was the days that we would all spend all day in the pool, then come in and sit in front of the TV with some boiled peanuts and a nice Disney movie! Or one of the black and white ones that she had. I wish I could be a kid again just so I could do those days over again!

  2. I almost forgot Great-Grandma memories! My absolute favorite memory with her was the last time I visited. She was sitting in her chair, all old and frail, and Annabelle was sitting on her lap smiling at her. I’m so glad she got to meet her before she died.

Leave a Reply

