Two-Ingredient Jam {DIY}

I remember the days when I would down a bowl of Smart Start Healthy Heart cereal or a Lean Cuisine dinner and feel like I had made a healthy food choice. Bless my heart (wait, can I bless my own heart?). Anyway, I now realize how terrible those things are for my body and that I should really concentrate on eating whole foods that are non- or minimally processed. Since this realization I have started making a lot of our staples. I make our granola, our salad dressing, hummus, pesto, sometimes our bread, and now our jam! I am currently growing cucumbers so I can make our own pickles, vegetables for our own stock, and our own herbs and spices! My philosophy on healthy eating is something like “the closer to home it is, the better”. I’m still working on that.

IMG_4518

I also find that once I make something at home, I can never bring myself to purchase it at the grocery store again. I haven’t bought salad dressing in YEARS. Really, years…like 3 or 4 of them. Alright…on to the jam!

This was my first time making jam and I was really scared that I was going to mess it up. But it’s so darn easy! These measurements made me two jars of jam. I wanted to be on the safe side in case I jacked it all up, but now I wish I would have bought 5lbs of concord grapes! It’s soooooooo good.

Two Ingredient Jam

2lbs concord grapes

1 1/2 – 2 cups of sugar {depending on how sweet you like it}

Okay, so there is a method to this, I guess. First you’re going to squeeze the insides of the grape into a pot while keeping the skins for later. Your fingers will be purplish, but I wear these purple fingers as a badge of honor since this jam is so amazing. I almost want to walk around with a jar of it just in case someone asks me why my fingers are purple. Anyway, when you’ve squeezed all of the grapes out of the skins, bring the pot of grapes to a boil for about 10 minutes or until the grapes have turned to a mush. You can help them out by mashing them, like I did.

Then you need to grab a sieve and put it over a bowl. Mash the seedy-mush with a spoon to expel all of the juices. Throw the seeds away. Pour the juice back into the pot and add skins. Bring the mixture to a boil, then add the sugar, beginning with a cup. Give it a little taste and see if that’s enough. I ended up putting in 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar, but if you need to put 2 cups in, hey, no judging here!

This is where I kind of lost track of time. I think I ended up boiling the mixture for 30 minutes, and even accidentally scorched it (and it still turned out amazing). I did take a photo of what it should look like when it’s finished:

IMG_4517

I’ve read that you can put a spoon in the freezer for a few minutes, then dip the spoon and if it runs off of the spoon like syrup, then it’s not quite done yet.

IMG_4514

While the jam was cooking, I sterilized some jam jars and lids in boiling water for a few minutes, dried them off, filled them with the jam while both (the jam and the jar) were still hot, and sealed them tightly. Then I boiled them for about 10 more minutes and set them upside down on a towel for about an hour. I’m sure they sealed in less than an hour, but I was busy doing other things.

I’m still new to the canning process, so I might have not done that correctly, I guess we will see! I don’t plan on letting these to jars of jam last that long, though.

Have a wonderful Thursday, all!

**Update**9/12/13 – It’s been a week and this jam is still amazing, however, I wanted to add that I am needing to put the jar in the microwave for about 20 seconds to loosen it up enough to spread onto bread. I am not sure if I did something wrong or if that is just something that comes along with quick jams. Anyway, just wanted to put that out there. It still tastes like heaven! 

Leave a Reply

