My Mother-in-laws Peach Cobbler {sort of}

While at my in-laws house last week, I stumbled upon a cookbook that was given to me from their old church at my wedding shower. Most of the recipes are from the 70’s and 80’s, so almost everything requires a can of this or a box of that. Of course, that was quite disappointing as I was flipping through the dessert section, but I quickly realized I can work around the canned fruit and boxed cake recipes. The ones requiring that mystery stuff, Cool Whip, are just going to have to wait until I figure out how to make that stuff from scratch.

Anyway, I was searching for something to make since we were having people for Labor Day when I flipped to the page with my mother-in-laws peach cobbler! The kind of cobbler she makes is different from what I grew up on. The kind I had as a child had the sort of pie crust topping or it had a pie crust bottom and an oat crumble topping, but hers is like this sponge cake thing…it’s so good! I still love both versions equally, but I will be sharing the sponge-cakey peach cobbler recipe with you today.

I did tweak it a little to add some extra flavors, so it’s not the exact recipe she submitted, but close!

IMG_4497

 

Peach Cobbler

4 cups of sliced, fresh peaches (no canned junk here!)

1 cup sugar

Juice from half a lemon (or close to a tablespoon)

1/2 cup water

1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)

1 1/2 cups self-rising flour

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups milk

1 teaspoon cinnamon 

Preheat oven to 350 F. In a pot, bring 1 cup of the sugar, the peaches, lemon juice, and water to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes. In a 3 qt. casserole dish, place the stick of butter in the middle, and put the dish in the oven for the butter to melt completely. Meanwhile, mix the flour, sugar, milk, and cinnamon in a bowl, but be careful to take your time to reduce clumps. Take the dish out of the oven and pour the batter in the middle of the dish, but don’t stir!! Carefully spoon the peaches over the batter, taking care to get them nice and even in the dish so every piece of cobbler has some fruit in it. Finally, carefully pour the syrup from the pot over the fruit. Don’t stir anything. Just put it in the oven and bake for about 45 minutes. The batter will rise above the fruit during the baking process.

You can do this with any kind of fruit, of course, just make sure to make that sugary-syrup mixture in the pot beforehand. I like to serve peach cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream! Yum!

Enjoy your Wednesday!

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Mother-in-laws Peach Cobbler {sort of}

  1. There’s only one way to make cool whip, that I’m aware of. Cream and sugar. And a mixer. Since you have to “whip” it. It doesn’t get any healthier, I’m afraid. haha.

Leave a Reply

