5 Favorite Natural Remedies

I’ve never been big on taking over-the-counter medications.  I am super sensitive to them for some reason. For instance, when I take Tylenol, I feel flu-like symptoms. When I take Nyquil, I hallucinate or have the most terrible nightmares. I have no idea why my body reacts this way to man-made medications, but I have learned to make do with the natural medications provided to us by the Creator. Here are my top 5 go-to remedies:

1) Apple Cider Vinegar – This is one that I discovered recently. My Aunt Yvonne shared a post on ACV and the ability it has to prevent heartburn if taken regularly. Being pregnant and having suffered terrible heartburn my last pregnancy, I want to do any (safe) thing to stop it from happening this time around.  I started taking it about 10 days ago. Besides keeping heartburn away, it also cured a massive caffeine headache I had the other night, and it gives me energy. Of course there are many more benefits to taking this stuff daily. I will mention that if you do get some of this stuff, make sure it’s organic and make sure it has the “mother” in it. I know that sounds creepy, but that is where all of the good stuff is. Oh, and I was taking shots of it in the morning, but I was tired of having a lingering taste of dirty feet in my mouth, so I started mixing 1 tablespoon ACV, 1 tablespoon raw honey and a small glass of warm water. It is much easier to get down that way.

2) Peppermint tea – This stuff was a lifesaver during my 1st trimester. I was not sick with Milo, at all. But this little girl? She gave me a hard time those first 13 weeks. I had a cup of peppermint tea every time I felt nauseated, and it took the nausea right away. I also drink peppermint tea when I have a headache. It helps to relieve the pain of a pounding headache. If you have some mint in your garden, just gather a few sprigs and make it fresh!

3) Coconut oil – About a year ago I decided to stop using store-bought lotion and start whipping up little tins of whipped coconut oil. I love this stuff. It keeps my skin moisturized all day, my sons too! Of course, we have easy skin, so if you have dry skin, then you might need to apply it more than once a day. I also use it for a diaper rash cream when Milo has a dry rash (as opposed to a diaper rash from moisture, then I use cornstarch).  I’ve also heard there are digestive benefits when taken every day, but I can’t bring myself to take it straight. I do cook with it, though. Of course, always buy organic, unrefined oil to get the most out of this stuff.

4) Honey – I give Milo raw honey when he has a little cough (which has been twice in his short life) and it clears it right up! It’s easy to get down because it tastes so good, too, so no fussing! I also eat it every morning on top of my yogurt and granola. It also strengthens the immune system, helps take care of allergies, and is an excellent remedy for skin problems.

5) Water – My all-time favorite natural remedy is water. When 1pm rolls around and Milo is napping and I feel like napping, I quickly realize that I am in serious need of water. I keep a 20oz container filled up and beside me at all times and it immediately peps me up when I’m feeling tired. It also relieves what I think are hunger pangs, which is really my body crying out for hydration. So keep that in mind next time  you feel like you’re starving. Drink a large glass of water and watch as the hunger disappears…unless you’re really starving. It’s also supposed to keep your skin looking healthy, which may be why mine looks so healthy! Of course, there are many benefits to drinking water, I’m just mentioning the main things water seems to relieve in my body. Now, make sure it’s organi…..haha just kidding! But seriously, I think if there was a company that advertised “organic water” and marked it up to $4 a bottle, people would buy it. Haha.

Well, that’s my list! What are your favorite natural remedies?

Leave a Reply

