Momma’s Shepherds Pie

Yesterday was a good day for comfort food. It was Milo’s first day of Pre-preschool, my first day of my internship, and Sam had to go to the post office, so I’d say we were all in need of a little comforting from some food. By the way, Milo did pretty good. They didn’t have to call me to come get him, so he didn’t cry the whole time. He played a little bit, but when I looked in on him before I picked him up, he was walking around, swinging his arms, and wailing away. It broke my heart but he dried it up the second he saw me. Poor, sweet baby. Anyway, back to the food…

My mother’s shepherds pie was one of those dishes that I never cared for while I lived at home.  It wasn’t until about 7 years after I moved out that I started craving it..and her meatloaf, which I always hated while I lived at home. I searched the internet for a recipe similar to hers, but all the ones I found online were super gross looking and nothing like what my mom made. I finally decided to break down and just ask her. That was a big step for me since I complained so much every time she cooked it. Anyway, she was happy to share, and so am I!

IMG_4406

And just to be clear, I understand that true shepherds pie is made with lamb and cheese is definitely not a normal ingredient, but this is the shepherds pie I grew up with!

Momma’s Shepherds Pie

1lb ground beef

1 sweet onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 small can tomato paste

2 large potatoes

1 can early peas

2-3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

salt and pepper to season

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Prepare mashed potatoes as you normally would with the 2 potatoes, set aside. Brown the beef in a skillet, add onions and garlic until onion is tender. Season with salt and pepper.  Drain meat mixture in a colander, then add back to the skillet to mix the small can of tomato paste.

In a 2 quart casserole dish, spread meat mixture on the bottom. Drain the liquid out of the peas, and spread the peas on top of the meat mixture. Layer a cup of the cheddar cheese on top of the peas, then top with the mashed potatoes. Top the casserole with the remaining cheese, or however much it takes to cover the potatoes. Bake for 25 minutes.

Now, I am not a fan of leftovers. I cook a fresh meal for my family every night, EXCEPT when I make this. It’s so good the second day and with just the 3 of us, there is plenty left over for the following night. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Momma’s Shepherds Pie

  1. yum! now I have the recipe, too, so I can make it for james! He’ll like it, I just have to think of something else to call it or the only thing I will hear is, “This is not shepherd’s pie!”

  2. Ok I feel bad, I have never comented on your blog ( i’m a bit lazy sometimes….) but I tried a few of your recipies and I loved them so much that I had to take the time to tell you 🙂 I really like your blog and your DIY projects are always great! i discovered your blog by accident ( cliking from one link to another to another and so on lol). Anyway, sorry if there is any mistakes, I’m a french student!

Leave a Reply

