Husband, I appreciate you.

My amazing husband has been hard at work lately with house projects that I put him up to. He has happily agreed to do them all without complaining, and, well, I’m not always as nice and agreeable as he is. I just want to stop and say that I truly appreciate my husband and all that he does for our family. And to show my appreciation I decided to make a dish with beef in it for dinner tonight! Haha. I’m not big on red meat, therefore we don’t eat much of it in this house, so this is a real treat for him.

Speaking of husband appreciation, I found a cute little list of ways to show your husband appreciation. {Here}

I thought it was important that she included “take care of yourself and your appearance”.  I have seen many people get married and just let themselves go, whether they gain 20lbs or just stop looking nice. I think this really has a negative effect on marriages. Whether you mean to convey this message or not, I believe it tells your partner that they aren’t worthy of your efforts to take care of yourself, which, I think, conveys a sense of disrespect. Anyway, just my two cents on that subject.

**Just wanted to clear up any misunderstandings here. I didn’t mean that people who gain weight are being disrespectful to their spouses. I know some took it that way. I totally understand that weight gain is something that some cannot help and am sensitive to that. I was mainly just talking about “letting yourself go” just because you’ve got the ring on the finger. I know some people might not agree with me, but I just think it’s important to keep that same regard for your husband after the wedding bells have rung. Do marriages work well when a spouse lets himself or herself go? Yes. I’m not saying you’re doomed for failure if you never change out of sweatpants. I was simply saying it speaks volumes to your husband if you take care of yourself and care about how you look in front of him. That is all**

Well, I’m off to start my Monday. My little guy starts part-time preschool tomorrow (I know, I thought it was going to be last week, too). Today will be dedicated to talking all about preschool and giving extra snuggles and kisses.

Leave a Reply

