5 favorite (fictional) reads

say that I prefer non-fiction over fiction, but if you take a look at my goodreads “read” list, you’ll see that I’m a liar. Well, I’m not lying about preferring non-fiction reads over fiction, but I have read a bit more fictional books. Now, I am not like my sister. She will read a book that she loves over, and over, and over, and over…..I can’t do that. I read a book once, either love it or hate it and never pick it up again. I remember the story, always, but I don’t need to remember every paragraph of the book! Anyway, here are a few of my favorites (and I won’t include the Twilight Saga or the Hunger Games trilogy even though those are definitely some of my favorites):

1) Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. First of all, I love historical fiction, and more than that, I can always appreciate a book about the Holocaust.  Sarah’s Key is incredibly heartbreaking. It’s about the Vel’ d’Hiv Roundup that took place in Paris. About 13,000 French Jews were rounded up that day, taken to a stadium, held at an internment camp, and ultimately shipped off to Auschwitz.  Sarah is a little girl at the time, who locks her brother in a cupboard when she realizes her and her family are being taken away, since she believes they will return home shortly.  Sixty years later, a journalist discovers Sarah’s story. I can’t remember all of the details, but I do know that I cried, a lot, and that it’s one, out of many books, that has stayed with me.

2) The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. It’s been even longer since I’ve read this book, like back in 2007. This is another heartbreaker.  Amir and Hassan are best friends, but Hassan is the son of Amir’s father’s servant.  One day, during a kite-fighting tournament, Amir watches as something horrific happens to his best friend, and both of their lives are affected by those events from that day on. Definitely read this book!

3) The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I just realized that all of these books, so far, have been made into movies since I’ve read them. Anyway, this is a book that made me feel really lonely, sad, and scared, but for some reason, I guess Cormac McCarthy’s amazing story-telling skills, I could not put this book down. It’s about a father and son who are basically alone in a post-apocalyptic America, trying to make it to the coast alive. They are not sure what awaits them at the coast, but they are determined to get there. Throughout their journey, they must hide from other humans (normally in big groups) who will kill them for food. There are no animals and no plants. Everything has been destroyed by fire. It’s a very dark and scary book, but it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.

4) A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. Another historical fiction book, and another book by Khaled Hosseini. This book sheds some light on the brutal treatment of Afghan women.  It’s about an unlikely friendship between two women, and actually has a pretty happy ending. But it will still make you cry your eyes out. I think I listened to this book over the course of a week on my way too and from work, so I got a lot of strange looks from people in other cars when they looked over and saw me sobbing, uncontrollably.  Haha.

5) Nightlight: A Parody by The Harvard Lampoon. Hilarious. If you are a Twilight fan, or even if you aren’t but have read the books, and you enjoy a good parody, read this. Don’t pay attention to the reviews. Some people are just too proud to laugh at simple things.

2 thoughts on “5 favorite (fictional) reads

  1. Can I please say that I CRIED… as-in-ruined-the-white-shirt-I-was-wearing-because-my-mascara-ran-THAT-badly kind of cried… when I read Nightlight. Easily in my top 10. Who thinks stuff like that up?!

    I also loved Sarah’s Key. Very Sad, but I inhaled it.

Leave a Reply

