Tuesday’s Tune: You’re the Best Song…

I still rock and sing my 33lb, 19 month old baby boy to sleep every night. I love it. I love that time we have together. I love singing him old hymns that I grew up with in church, that he probably won’t hear in church. I have a list that I go through, but he’s normally asleep by the end of song #1. I think I normally start out with “Be Still My Soul”, then “His Eye is on the Sparrow”, then “Just a Closer Walk with Thee”, and sometimes I make it to “In the Garden”.

It is my favorite part of the day. I will miss it so much when he decides he’s too big to be rocked and sang to sleep.

I heard this song about a year ago, and knew I had to add it to my list of lullabies. The second and third verses always get me, and they will get you too if you’re a Christian parent.

You’re the Best Song I’ll Ever Write by Bethany Dillon

…and I’m kind of sad I couldn’t find a great video, but the only other one cut off the 3rd verse. The only lyric you miss at the beginning is “Good morning, you and the sun are up before I’m ready. Well, ready or not. You need me. So here I am.”

Leave a Reply

