Friday’s five favorite things

Friday’s five favorite things is simply a list of 5 things that I have been enjoying during the past week.  I like lists, a lot of people I know like lists, so I thought this would be a good topic for Fridays.

1. SheaMoisture Olive & Marula Baby Head-to-Toe Wash and Shampoo

14232078     I normally use California Baby, however, Target decided to mark it up to $18.49!!! I couldn’t believe my eyes. Luckily, I found this right beside the California Baby! The label boasts of being Paraben free, phthalates free, paraffin free, gluten free, synthetic fragrance free, propylene glycol free, mineral oil free, no animal testing, no PABA, no synthetic color, no DEA, no animal ingredients, and no sulfates! A MUCH better alternative to Johnson’s. Plus, the smell is amazing.  I don’t need an excuse to sniff my child’s head excessively throughout the day, but if I ever did…

2. Fry’s Spicy California Roll

I am not normally a California Roll fan. In fact, I hate crab! Maybe it’s because I haven’t conjured up the courage to ask the sushi chef to make me a spicy salmon roll, but I have been craving this spicy California roll from my local Fry’s all week! So good..and spicy…and sweet!

IMG_4361

3. Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Serum

     I love my whole Juice Beauty skin care line, but this Blemish Clearing Serum has been my face’s saving grace for the past month. I don’t know what has been going on with my face. It’s probably because I’ve been slacking on the fruits and veggies lately, but I’m so glad I have this stuff in my drawer. I applied it to the blemish on my face and went back to check on it 5 minutes later and all the redness was gone and the healing powers of the serum had already started to work!

4. My New Workout Shirt!

photo

Yay for Stroller Strides, which is where I got this shirt! I love going to this class. Not only is it a great way to meet other moms in the area, but I get a great workout, and I don’t even have to leave my kid with anyone else! He just sits in the jogging stroller while I sing silly songs to him. I’m sure it’s quite entertaining for him, too, watching a bunch of moms running around singing songs and making funny faces at their kids.  Their website, Fit4Mom, has a local class finder if you’re interested!

5. Folks, This Ain’t Normal by Joel Salatin

folks-this-aint-normal_coverart_300px

I love Joel Salatin. I wish that somehow he could be one of my grandfathers. I mean, I don’t want to trade any of my grandpas for him, but I wish I could squeeze him, somehow.  This book is an awesome place to start if you’re one of those people who don’t get the anti-GMO-er’s, the big push for more organic farms, and the general concern about what is happening to our food here in America. It’s also a great book for people like me, who want to know what they can do to help.  He certainly practices what he preaches and he even gives tips for what city people can to do help out. He doesn’t just tell you what you can do to help, he tells you why it will help and actually explains why these things need to be done. He knows what he’s talking about. Love this guy, and this book.

2 thoughts on “Friday’s five favorite things

  1. I like your list Amber but I’ve realized something. Your officially a hippie! Haha you had a little of the makings before you left but its a fact now. Haha love your blog

    • Haha..Oh, I am so undeserving of that title. I would love to be a complete hippie one day, minus the getting high all of the time..if that really is something hippies even do. Anyway, so glad you love it! I will have an easy enchilada recipe next Thursday for you!

Leave a Reply

