DIY X Console Table

Ever since we moved into our new home, I have been back and forth on media center solutions. First I wanted floating shelves all around the TV, then I realized how much of a pain in the neck that would be to put up. Then I wanted an electric fireplace, but that idea was quickly shot down by my husband who says that “electric fireplaces are tacky…blah blah blah”. Then I went back and forth on this media stand from World Market for about a month, but it only stands 23 inches high and that is just too short when you have children. So I gave up. Then, one boring Monday morning, I was wasting my life away on Pinterest, and I saw this pin:

Photo belongs to Ana White

Photo belongs to Ana White

I told Sam that we have to become carpenters and buy a miter saw and a kreg jig (we didn’t need either of those things. They used a table saw and liquid wood instead). I have no idea what those two things are, but they are required for this job so they needed to be in our garage. Thankfully, my husband was up to the task, but he decided to take on his dad as a building partner (which was a relief for me and a smart idea on his part) and they spent last weekend building our table. Here it is!

Um, just ignore the annoying power cords. We plan on hiding them in the wall very soon.

Um, just ignore the annoying power cords. We plan on hiding them in the wall very soon.

Shelves are a little bare, I know. I plan on crocheting a few more blankets and getting a few more cool baskets for the bottom.

Shelves are a little bare, I know. I plan on crocheting a few more blankets and getting a few more cool baskets for the bottom.

These X's really make the whole table.

These X’s really make the whole table.

I’m so proud of my husband and father-in-law for putting this together! They did such a great job. If you aren’t up to a DIY like this, I found this posting on Etsy for $475.00, plus shipping, which is $150.00. Our materials, including numerous energy drinks and cinnamon gum packs, was about $100.

Now that we have a media solution, I am moving on to a piano purchase! Sam already has his sander ready to go and we are going to master the art of “antiquing” furniture, which does not include baby powder, in case you were wondering.

Oh, and here’s the direct link to the webpage if the Pinterest pin doesn’t cooperate: http://ana-white.com/2012/05/plans/rustic-x-console

6 thoughts on “DIY X Console Table

  1. Pingback: Me + Three {and counting}

    • Yes, Heather, we had plans for it! The first photo, which is the photo from Ana White’s website is the link to the plans. This is probably my favorite piece of furniture in the house. =)

Leave a Reply

