I am a stripper…

…of cloth diaper inserts, duh.  This morning, as I awoke from my restful nights sleep, my nose alerted me to the stench of…well, I can’t even describe it, it stunk so bad.  It was like barnyard/ammonia/pee/gasoline. And it was strong.  In fact, I’m pretty sure the stench is what woke me.  After many google inquiries and a few more (painful) sniff tests, I came to the conclusion that it is time to strip my diapers.  DUN-DUN-DUN (that is scary music).

I guess I am lucky to have gone a good 10 months without having to strip my inserts.  I mean, I do take really good care of them and I always use a cloth diaper safe detergent (currently using Ecos Free & Clear), but I guess this is just a part of saving the planet, right?

Stripping Station #1

Stripping Station #1

I started with clean diaper inserts. After all, who wants a pot of boiling poop?  I filled the biggest pot I could find about 1/3 of the way full with water and let it come to a boil, then I boiled 3 inserts at a time for 20 minutes.  The smell in the air was that of tires.  After they were finished boiling, I placed them in a metal bowl with tongs, and took them upstairs to a bathtub filled with hot water and 4 tablespoons of Rock’n Green Funk Rock.

photo copy 2

 

I let them soak there for about 2 hours.  Then I threw them in the wash and went through two rinse cycles, dried them and voila! They smelled brand new! Take a look at this water, though! There was so much soap built up in the inserts, I can’t believe it took this long for the ammonia smell to pop up!

10 months of soap build up!

10 months of soap build up!

I ran out of wipes (most unexpectedly) yesterday, but quickly remembered that I had made some wipes from terrycloth and flannel, a few months back.  I simply wet them and put them in my handy-dandy wipe warmer that my awesome friend, Mandi, bought for me.  I actually like using the cloth wipes.  They were super easy to make with the serger.

photo copy 3

Well, that’s all for today.  I am going to enjoy the weekend with my honey-bear.  Have a wonderful Friday!

4 thoughts on “I am a stripper…

    • Haha..Rock’n Green is the best CD detergent ever and the Funk Rock edition is used for getting rid of ammonia build up. Just wait until you have wee ones! All of this crazy talk will suddenly make sense to you! And I trust you will cloth diaper your kids…right??

  1. Pingback: Follow up to “I am a stripper” | The General Specific

Leave a Reply

