Mothers: We all deserve respect

I’m sure most of  you have seen this sign floating around Pinterest or even on your Facebook news feed. I didn’t really care for it the first 10 times I saw it.  I just thought, “how arrogant and insensitive”, but now, after having seen it for the 37th time, I have arrived to the point where I feel the need to respond to this haughty sign.

My main question is: What the hell do you think I do all day? 

Do you imagine me gracefully getting out of bed at 9:30am, well rested, singing A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes while little mice and birdies dress me? Then I go downstairs, dressed and groomed, enjoy a nice cup of coffee while I read the newspaper and fix myself eggs benedict. Oh, and when I’m ready, fed and caffeinated, I go into my child’s room and, oh look!, he’s standing up in his crib, cute as ever, waiting for me to sweep him out of his crib (that he loves so much, he sleeps in it every night, uninterrupted).  I place him on his changing table and dress him in his Ralph Lauren outfit, since I am going shopping with 10 of my girlfriends later.  Then I take him downstairs and sit him in his highchair and I watch FoxNews and chat on Facebook with my friends while he eats breakfast all by himself. I then enjoy another cup of coffee.  After breakfast, I decide that I want to workout, so he plays peacefully with toy trains while I enjoy 1 hour of aerobics.  Then I take a nice, long, hot shower.  I think I might have one more cup of coffee since it’s only noon.  We enjoy a nice afternoon, shopping, spending all of my husband’s money.  At about 5pm, my son is ready for a bath, and then right after that, it’s bedtime.  I have the whole evening for me and my husband.  We slip into bed at around 9:30 and have sweet, uninterrupted sex, and then sweet, uninterrupted dreams.

Puh-leeze.

I don’t have to tell you that I haven’t slept past 6am in over 10 months.  I haven’t slept a full night in over 10 months.  I rarely get to dress and groom myself in the morning.  I normally wake up in a puddle of pee (cloth diaper problem) because my son decided his crib is actually a jail cell somewhere around 1:47am and woke up in a full panic!  I tripped over some jingling, squeaking elephant toy that he never plays with and made all 3 dogs start barking.  I wear my “pee clothes” until about noon, when I finally get to shower. It’s not a “nice, long, hot shower” because my son has learned that the water faucet knob moves and moving the faucet knob is the only thing that will keep him from throwing himself down on the floor in a fit of rage.  If I’m being honest, I get poop on my hand at least once a day.  My kid does go to sleep at about 7pm, but then he wakes up at 9pm…then 12am…then 2am…and so on.  And sex? Isn’t that what got me into all this in the first place? Besides that, my husband is deployed.

I think the thing that annoys me the most is that all mothers, whether you are a full-time, part-time, or stay-at-home mother, makes sacrifices.  We all know that it’s a tough job.  It’s a rewarding job, but it’s tough.  At the end of the day (which, for me, is right after dinner and right before bath time, when Miles is too tired to act like a normal human being, but not sleepy enough to go to sleep) I sometimes want to shoot myself.  Not literally, of course, but I get stressed from the day, too! My point with the above illustration is that it is not real for any mother.  If you have a full-time job then you wake up early, go to work, and come home to all that chaos.  If you stay home, you wake up early, go to work (since staying home with kids is definitely work), and you never leave that chaos.  Both situations involve sacrifice.  Why try to act like you’re superior to me just because you make a different sacrifice than I do.  You’re no better just because you have to, or chose to work. We are all doing the best we can for our children.  Why can’t that be enough? Why can’t we all get the same amount of recognition and respect?

Just though I’d get that off my chest.  Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

