For Annabelle

My baby sister, Stephanie, is about 7 months pregnant with my first niece, who will be called Annabelle.  I am so excited! I think she is going to look just like my sister with thick, dark brown, curly hair, and giant brown puppy dog eyes. I will not be surprised if she also passes her stubborn attitude to Annabelle.

Well, her hair isn’t really curly anymore, but it was when she was a baby. There is no way Annabelle is getting away from these features.

I wanted to make something special for Annabelle. When my sister and I were little, our favorite blankets were the afghans that my Grandma Richardson made for us one year. Mine was long and had all the colors of the rainbow, and Stephy’s was a huge granny square, colored with pastel yellows, greens, and white.  We slept with them every night and kept them until they literally unraveling.  Anyway, I decided to make Annabelle an afghan since I loved mine so much as a little girl.

I used 3 strands of Vanna’s Choice yarn (weight category: 4) with a Q sized hook.

I started out with 61 chain stitches and did a simple single crochet throughout the whole blanket.

I finished it off by taking one of the colors and doing a simple single crochet border around the blanket just to give it a little bit of contrast. It is about 36 inches long and 28 inches wide.  It’s a pretty heavy afghan, but that’s okay since Stephy lives in England. I think it gets pretty cold there.

Have a wonderful Sunday-Funday!

8 thoughts on “For Annabelle

  1. Nothing wrong with blue eyes and blond hair, but it will be really hard for her to look like me without my dark colors! I guess it doesn’t matter. Her hair will turn brown eventually. But I REALLY hope she doesn’t come out with James’s chin! Can’t fix that. Haha.

    • Hi! Okay, so I think I used 3 of each color, so 9 skeins of the Vana’s Choice. They are smaller skeins, so you could probably get away with using 1.5 of each color of a normal skein of yarn. =) Of course, I might have only used one of each color, I can’t remember, it’s been so long! Maybe I will make a new one and remember to count the skeins..haha.

Leave a Reply

