The Big “OH”

No, pervert, I’m not talking about that “Oh”. I’m talking about the “oh” I get when I tell people what my husband does for a living.

First, I just want to say that this post is sort of a “brag post”.  I L-O-V-E my husband and I think he’s pretty much the most awesome husband/dad/friend/drinking partner/road-trip crony/educational assistant/movie mate/etc…EVER. Add to that the “BAMFness” of being a US Marine AND THEN the even more “BAMFness” (please excuse these seemingly made-up words and lack of good grammar) of being an EOD tech and you got yourself SAM (see photo):

Anyway, back to the big “oh”.  I don’t talk to many people these days. Normally just Robert, Debbie, Miles, the dogs, and myself. But when I do come into contact with other human beings, I make sure to make the most of it! Somehow the subject of Sam always seems to pop up and I am asked the question, “What does your husband do?”

Well, I’m glad you asked.

He does many things. The main thing he does, and he might disagree with me on this one, but I always say it first, he’s a Marine. Now, if I’m talking to a single lady (like the one in Safeway yesterday) she will usually ask if he has any single friends.  I normally say “no” just to keep the conversation centered on Sam, (hello, you were asking about him, remember?) however if there are any desperado friends of Sam who need/want a lady and you trust my good judgement, please let me know and I will pass on your information.

Anyway, after the Marine part (which normally begets an “ahhh..how nice”) they want to know more! “What does he do in the Marine Corps?”

Well, I’m glad you asked.

Here’s how this normally goes:

“Oh, he’s an EOD tech”

“an ew wha?”

“An EOD tech..Explosive Ordnance Disposal.”

“explosive coordinates wha?”

“EXPLOSIVE ORDNANCE DISPOSAL. HAVEN’T YOU EVER SEEN THE HURT LOCKER?”

“The Hurt Locker..hmm..Oh yea!” *troublesome look takes over face and pity enters eyes now* “Ohhhhhh.”

This may seem surprising to any mother/wife/person, but I always “insert smile” after the big “oh”.  It makes me proud! I know most every EOD wife can relate to my seemingly craziness (there’s always that handful who don’t relate to any human beings on the face of the earth, but that post is reserved for a bad night with one-too-many glasses of vino).  When I hear that “Oh” (with the troublesome face) it lets me know that the person I’m talking to not only respects my husband but they also recognize and feel the weight of the sacrifice that he makes every day he is deployed overseas, and even here, when he’s training.  Now, I’m not trying to take away from any Airman/Soldier/Seaman, or any other person in the Armed Forces who does a job besides EOD.  I am just 1) bragging on my husband and 2) explaining the reasoning behind my smile when people seem so troubled to hear that my husband plays with bombs for a living.  I am proud of him, and I think he is so cool and smart for being able to do what he does and yes, sometimes I do get a little scared, after all, I am only a human EOD wife, but mostly, I’m proud.

I love you, Sam. I think you are one of the most amazing souls I have ever met and I was lucky enough to get to marry you. I also have to admit that this post was slightly inspired by the FX showing of The Hurt Locker, but it was mostly inspired by your awesomeness…and I need a few new outfits…but mostly your awesomeness!

Haha…I’m just kidding.

About what?

You’ll never know.

Will anybody get this?

Crap, I’m talking to myself again.

I need friends.

I mean, seriously…

2 thoughts on “The Big “OH”

  1. I’m your friend and you made me cry lol. I love reading your blog and this is my favorite so far. You two are such a great couple and wonderful people in general 🙂 .. the big Ohhhhh makes me proud too.

Leave a Reply

