Realizations, Worries, & Book Lists

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/3865029/the-general-specific?claim=nv7tfa73cc3″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

I had an epiphany the other day as I was cleaning poop off of Miles’ diapers and it goes a little something like this:

I am a senior in college…A SENIOR! That means next year I will actually be working with people, I mean, not in the full capacity that I one day will be, but still.  Holy crap! I need to learn more about people..about psychology, marriage, families, counseling!  What have I been doing for the past 4…err 6, okay, 7 years? I need to read every book on psychology and marriage counseling I can get my hands on. I’m going to be a marriage and family counselor…YES! I’m going to help couples not get divorced and find happiness…YES! I’m going to be good at it…YES!!…and I’m still going to be cleaning poop off of diapers…yep.

The sudden realization that graduation is coming soon has me super motivated and excited to learn as much as I possibly can about what I am going to be doing. The problem is that I should’ve been motivated and excited about it way before now. I have taken psychology class after psychology class, and counseling and Bible class, one after the other, and I’ve done great in them (4.0..whoo hoo!) but I don’t remember much off the top of my head. Does this happen a lot? I’m a little worried that I’m slightly under prepared to be a people-helper.  Should I even be telling everyone this?

Well, now that I put all of that out there, I guess I should say that I AM doing something about it.  I have decided that from now on, my “fun reading” will be filled with books that will help me in my career, which is not a bad deal since those types of books are still “fun” to me.  I started Attachments: Why you love, feel, and act the way you do by Dr. Tim Clinton. I read a lot of his books in my classes, so I figured this would be a good one, too. I already have a few more lined up, as well:

How Christian is Christian Counseling?: The dangerous secular influences that keep us from caring for souls by Gary L. Almy

Curing the Heart: A model for Biblical counseling by Howard Eyrich

A Theology of Christian Counseling by Jay Edward Adams

Totally Sufficient by Ed Hindson

Basic Counseling Techniques: A Beginning Therapist’s Tool Kit by C. Wayne Perry

I’ll stick with those 5 for now, but this list will definitely be growing! Oo, I can’t wait until I have a library in my house. I’m also going to be adding a few “must-have-on-hand-always” books for reference:

The Popular Encyclopedia of Christian Counseling: An Indispensable Tool for Helping People with Their Problems by Tim Clinton

Christian Counseling 3rd Edition: Revised and Updated by Gary R. Collins

Psychology, Theology, and Spirituality in Christian Counseling by Mark R. McMinn

Modern Psychotherapies: A Comprehensive Christian Appraisal by S. Jones & R. Butman

Theories of Counseling and Psychotherapy: A Case Approach by Nancy L. Murdock

I will also be adding more to that list. Sorry if this is totally boring, but I really need to make a list that I won’t lose, and since I’ve never lost my blog, I thought this would be the best place for it. Plus, it would be nice to hear from counselors, therapists, pastors, or any other person who has experience in the field, what books they might recommend. Alright, back to learning stuff! This is so exciting! Happy Wednesday, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Realizations, Worries, & Book Lists

  1. I can completely relate to the feeling that you’ve done really well in college but can’t seem to actually REMEMBER anything!… You remember more than you think. When a situation arises, you will find yourself recalling information from school that you didn’t even know was lodged somewhere in your brain! 🙂 I know you’re going to do great!

  2. Well, to quell some of your fears, I, too, forgot most of what I learned – at least I thought I did. But God has made us with a lock-box for information to be stored away until we begin to use it. Then we access that information quickly and begin building our useful knowledge base one accessed memory at a time. Then you look back one day and remember learning things you thought you since forgot. Only this time those memories become very useful. Just be patient and keep learning. You will understand one day.

  3. Hey if I’m not reproducing myself…I will gladly help with the changing poppy diaper part. And Congrats!! I’m so proud of you for doing all that you’ve done. You always motivate me so keep it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

