The Happiness Project…so far.

I have been reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, and I must say it has inspired me in many different ways.  In her book, the first chapter is dedicated to her commandments, her rules of life, and some truths she has discovered throughout life, then she goes from there. Each month is dedicated to improving or changing some area of her life like her marriage, parenthood, organization, etc.  I am only halfway through, but so far she has motivated me to tackle my mess of a closet, and to make some much needed purchases of file boxes that I have been putting off for months. I just keep all of our important documents safely jammed in one of the 3 drawers in our desk, along with old coupons that I will never use because I am not a couponer, old newspapers, old magazines, and some more junk that I really need to get rid of. This is not like me at all. My main job in the Air Force was to maintain a file system for our unit and I did a pretty good job of that, so I have no idea why I have not implemented parts of that system at my own home. That is changing! I am starting small since being 25-year old newly weds with a brand new baby does not constitute that much paperwork.  I was poking around the Container Store’s online shop and found these two file boxes that will be perfect…if only I could decide which one I want:

 

I’m pretty sure I’ll end up with the bamboo box.  Mrs. Rubin has also inspired me to work on my friendships.  I don’t think I spend enough time maintaining this part of my life because it has always taken care of itself, or that is how it feels. It feels like the older I get, the more work I have to put into these relationships to make them full and worthwhile.  Too bad it can’t be like it was in elementary school when you saw a girl wearing the same shoes as you and all-of-the-sudden you two were BFF’s for life.  Life was easy then.  Anyway, I am going to get back to the book. I highly recommend this book to anyone who feels bored with life and is ready to make some changes. She will inspire you to do just that!

Have a good day!

One thought on “The Happiness Project…so far.

Leave a Reply

