Something useful or informative..

I believe that is what I promised in my last post. Literally 5 minutes after I posted my last entry, I found this amazing article about 10 simple actions that children pick up on in their parent’s marriage.  I talk a lot about being in school, but I never really talk about why I’m in school.  It’s because of marriage! Marriage and it’s gigantic failure rate in America.  Because of the horrible divorce rate (which is roughly 50%) I am on my way to becoming a marriage counselor with hopes of changing that statistic for the better. Aim high, right? Anyway, back to the blog post that I found. Here it is:

10 actions that kids learn from their parent’s marriage

I think each one of these things are important to keep in mind and to model for your children, especially the “I’m sorry” one.  It’s hard to apologize when you’re wrong, and even harder when you’re not! This is one that I could work on, and also servanthood.  Kids pick up on everything. I know I learned a lot from my parent’s marriage, good and bad lessons! I remember when I was little, they were pretty affectionate to one another. Of course, that affection slowly dwindled over the years and then (sad face) – divorce, but it wasn’t a total loss. I did learn some valuable lessons from them two (Love you, Mom and Dad!).  So, yeah, the kiddos are watching and learning from the way you treat your spouse, so do it right!

Who loves oatmeal? THIS GIRL. I was even more thrilled about oatmeal when I read that it can help increase my milk supply! Since the Dr. has given me the green light to wean Miles off the formula and get him back to just the breast I am searching for every little thing to help me in that department. The supplementing, the use of the nipple shield (because of the use of the bottle with supplementing – darn silicone), and the small amount of nursing I was able to do since it burned too many calories for him has put my milk supply at a dangerously low level. But I am not giving up! I am now breast feeding and pumping at every feeding to get my supply back up. I have mother’s milk tea and fenugreek on the way and I have been eating oatmeal and drinking water like they’re going out of style.  It’s all so tiring, but it will be so worth it in the end. Anyway, back to the oatmeal. I have a wonderful way of making oatmeal bad for you:

You simply add maple extract, brown sugar, milk, butter, and cinnamon-sugar! YUMM. Speaking of oatmeal, this is a really entertaining website:

The Oatmeal

There. I gave you 3 useful or informative things: marriage tips, ways to make oatmeal unhealthy, and an awesome website that will just waste away more of your time on the Internet. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

