New Years Eve 2011

It’s okay that Miles has decided to stay cozy in my womb because this Momma is going to party it up, kid-free, tonight! And by “party it up” I mean that I am going to a NYE party and I’m going to eat lots of sweets, drink sparkling grape juice, and drive my husband around. Hopefully I’ll go into labor from all the excitement, but I doubt it.  Anyway, I’m here to share the amazing dessert that I made for the party.  I am not sure what it is called, but in my earlier years as a “wankster” (*side note – I first typed “wangster” but quickly backspaced after looking at the word for a whole 2 minutes) I called this dessert “the shiz”.  Since I am more wise and at the mature age of 25, I have decided to rename it “cinnamon-cream cheese tortilla won tons”, because, well, that is what they are.  I was just too stupid to figure that out back in high school when my good friend, Nikki, introduced them to me.  A word of caution – these things are FREAKING AMAZING, hence the formal title they held, and very addicting, and very fattening, so if you make them make sure you are taking them to someone else’s house so they can eat them all. =)

My husband took this picture and was very proud of it.

Cinnamon-cream cheese wontons

Makes 40 wontons

You will need:

10 – 8inch burrito tortillas

1 can of PAM butter spray (you won’t need the whole thing)

About 1/4 a cup of cinnamon-sugar (McCormick’s actually makes this, already mixed)

8oz block of cream cheese

1 regular size tub of Cool Whip

1 cup of powdered sugar

toothpicks

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C)

Heat tortillas in the microwave (according to directions) to make them pliable. On a cutting board, spray both sides of a tortilla with PAM butter spray and sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon sugar on each side, just enough to lightly coat each side of the tortilla.  With a pizza cutter, cut the tortilla into 4 sections.

Next, and this may be a little tricky for some people, but you’re going to take the two bottom points and fold them in together, overlapping each other so that you form a little cone.  I used toothpicks to hold them in place, and had to play with it a few times to find a way that worked.  I ended up doing this weird teepee thing that I can only show you in a photo:

It's not really a teepee, but you get the picture, right?

 

I tried just one toothpick at first, but the cones were going flat in the oven.

You can bake them in a muffin pan, or on a cookie sheet.  Just don’t get discouraged if they come out of the oven looking a little flat.  Not all of them will be perfect little cones, but you can still spread the cream cheese filling on them and enjoy.  Bake them at 350 for about 10 minutes.  I like them to be pretty crispy, so just pay attention to the edges and when they start to get brown, the cones should be done. You can make the cones a day in advance or the morning of, but I recommend waiting to put the filling in until the last minute because you’ll need to refrigerate them if you’re not going to eat them right away, but refrigerating them over night might make them soggy.

For the filling, mix the cream cheese, powdered sugar and the whole tub of cool whip together until it looks like a smooth, white cream cheese dream-come-true:

…about 3 minutes on medium speed.

Now for the fun part! Put the filling in a pastry or zip-lock bag and cut about an inch (maybe a little smaller) opening at the corner.  Try to fill the shells up as much as possible, really getting to the bottom of the cone.  You might not use all the filling, unless all 40 of your shells turned out to be perfect cones (if that is the case, please let me in on your secret!!).

Oh, momma...

Refrigerate them until dessert time! I have managed to refrain from devouring any of them (I’m saving myself for tonight). I did let Sam have one and he said “They are good…almost too good” with a hint of suspicion in his voice, like I put drugs or something in them. Anyway, have a happy New Years Eve, everyone!!

 

 

9 thoughts on “New Years Eve 2011

  1. Wow I didn’t hunk it was possible that the shiz (hope upu domt mind if i continue to call them the shiz…for sentimental reasons, and because its easierto remember) could look any better but it really does. And I was totally cracking up with your description of Sam’s reaction to them. Hahaha.

  2. Love this recipe, it looks like something I’ll have to try once my strict-dieting-resolution has died out. Which is soon. Good luck with the baby, hope you’ll meet him soon soon! 🙂

  3. I love these things…and I’m with Sarah they will always remain the Shiz to me also…I hope you have a great New Years Eve, and maybe Baby Miles will decide to come today:) love ya

  4. Congrats on your baby! Whenever he decides to make his grand entrance. My daughter was born on her due date, those last two weeks totally suck. But those mexi-canoli things look pretty spectacular.

Leave a Reply

