Easy Mexican Pizza

Today one of my friends pinned a mexican pizza recipe.  The photo made my mouth water and I knew right then and there that Sam and I would be having Mexican pizza for dinner tonight.  I didn’t end up using the recipe that she pinned, instead I decided to throw it together myself and use a cheater packet (the McCormick taco seasoning packet) instead of making up my own taco seasoning, which is super easy, by the way. I am just really lazy this week (1) because it’s my birthday week and (2) because I have been pregnant for 10 months now and I think I’ve earned the right to slack on a few things, especially in the kitchen.

My sweet husband just told me that “dinner tonight was restaurant quality! Best Mexican pizza I’ve had made by a white woman in Japan!”  He then informed me that the restaurant he was referring to was Taco Bell, and laughed hysterically.  I did not think it was all that amusing.  But seriously, he loved the Mexican pizza.  It was gone in less than 2 minutes and when he learned that I threw away the rest of the meat, he threw a temper tantrum, kicked off his trousers, and ran around the house in his underwear yelling “I NEED MORE MEAT!!”  Don’t tell him I told you that. Anyway, here’s the recipe!

Easy Mexican Pizza

Makes 4 pizzas

8 (8 inch) flour or corn tortillas

1 can refried beans

1 lb lean ground beef

1 garlic clove – minced, diced, whatever…

1 small red onion – diced

1 package of McCormick’s hot taco seasoning

1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on how spicy you like it)

2 roma tomatoes – seeded and diced

1 jar salsa

2 green onions – sliced thin

1 package of mexican cheese

*optional – taco sauce, lettuce, sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (or 180 degrees C).

Cook the beef, onions, and garlic until the beef is done. Add the taco seasoning and a little bit of water (no more than 1/4 of a cup, just so it’s not super dry).  Spray a cookie sheet with PAM or something of the like and arrange 2 or 4 of the tortillas (however many you can fit) on the cookie sheet. Take a spoonful of beans and spread on each tortilla, top with a little bit of cheese, then top with some meat, and add another tortilla on the very top.  I sprayed the tortillas with a bit of PAM to make them extra crunchy since I was using flour tortillas.  Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.

Remove pizzas from oven, top with some salsa, tomatoes, green onions, and cheese, then stick those bad boys back in the oven for 5 more minutes or until the cheese is melted and looks ooey-gooey.  After you let them cool, top with taco sauce, sour cream, whatever floats your boat! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Easy Mexican Pizza

  1. I just had to let you know that your picture made my mouth water…which is really unfair to a dieter. However Sam’s temper tantrum inspired a Sam/Stuart image and I laughed so hard! And don’t hate me but I kind of thought Sam’s joke was funny. Haha

    • Oh and his screaming need more meat inspired way to many inside (does the phrase, i love meat ring a bell?) and gay jokes to even type. Lol

Leave a Reply

