Fancy-pants Ramen Noodles and Yard Work!

Wow, I have been a bad blog momma.  Sam has been keeping me really busy with..um..cooking and other wifely duties..and stuff.  Anyway, I am here now and I am just going to share a few photos of what we have been doing around the yard and in the kitchen! Remember when I got home a few months ago and the driveway and yard looked like crap? Well, my husband was sweet enough to cut the grass and help me clean up the horrible looking mess we had in our driveway today.  Nevermind the fact that he threw a bunch of leaves and weeds over the side of our wall into the neighbors yard!

Yay! Now people won't be afraid of my driveway.

 

Thanks to my awesome husband for the grass cutting and tree trimming job he did on our yard. =)

 

So there.  The yard looks great and just in time for my baby shower on Saturday, which I am extremely excited for and so happy that I have a great friend like Mandi to pull it all together and throw it for me! But more to come on that later. As far as a pregnancy update goes, I am now 34 weeks pregnant and hating my life more each day.  Don’t get me wrong, I am so excited to see Miles in about 6 weeks, but I am so very uncomfortable lately.  I had my first real food aversion last night.  It was one of my favorite things and something I use almost every night in my suppers – raw garlic.  The smell of it brought tears to my eyes and vomit to my mouth.  Lovely, I know.  Hopefully it was just a one night thing, but we will see when I start to prepare dinner tonight.  Speaking of dinner, I have a wonderful recipe that I would like to share.  I like to call it fancy-pants ramen noodles, but it’s known better as beef and broccoli noodle bowl.

This is for 2-3 servings, could be 4 if you served egg rolls or some other side with it:

8oz beef stir fry strips (cooking oil to cook it in)

2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger or 1 teaspoon ground ginger

2 nice sized garlic cloves

1 to 2 14oz cans of beef broth (depending on how soupy you like it. I used 1)

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 teaspoons rice vinegar

2 cups broccoli florets

1 cup julienne carrots

2 cups fresh soba noodles, or 2 packages ramen noodles.

Cook beef strips until brown. Stir in ginger and garlic and cook for a minute or so.  Add beef broth, soy sauce, and vinegar. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and add broccoli and carrots.  Simmer covered for 3 minutes or until veggies are tender.  Add soba noodles or uncooked ramen noodles and cook for 3 more minutes and voila! You have yourself a low-fat, yummy dinner!

Add another can of beef broth if you'd prefer more juice!

 

Have a great Thursday, everyone!

 

One thought on “Fancy-pants Ramen Noodles and Yard Work!

Leave a Reply

