Super simple pumpkin cheesecake

Welp, I can almost say with certainty that I will see my husband tomorrow night! I say almost because it is still possible that one of their flights could get cancelled or something incredibly inconvenient (and somewhat expected) like that. Anyway, I am praying that nothing of the sort happens and they get here on time.  I wanted to make something special for Sam’s return, but dinner seemed like too much work and he doesn’t really like sweets at all.  There is one exception: cheesecake.  I have no clue why he likes cheesecake when his reasons for not eating other sweets seem to be because of the calorie, sugar, and fat content.  Cheesecake is like the WORST dessert there is!!! Even worse than glazed donuts! But, I am thankful for this one exception, especially now that I am 8 months pregnant.  Miles does not seem to mind the sweets either.  Maybe he will take after me.  Anyway, so this morning I looked up a pumpkin cheesecake recipe and the first one that popped up was Paula Dean’s pumpkin cheesecake.  Now, I am sure it is delicious, but the thing called for 3 packages of cream cheese, sour cream and probably 6 more sources of fat.  So I looked around even more and found one that I decided to modify to add more pumpkin (since that is the good stuff) and less fat.  I have a growing boy inside of me, so I don’t really need any more help packing on the pounds.  The recipe is super simple and it took me about 5 minutes to whip together.  The cheesecake won’t be ready for another 3 hours or so, but that is just because it needs to chill.  I might have to try a piece before Sam gets home, you know, just to make sure it’s okay for him to eat.

What you need:

1 8oz. package of whipped cream cheese

1 can pumpkin

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice

1/4 teaspoon maple flavoring *optional – and if you prefer more maple flavor, add more of the extract!

1 8oz. package of Cool Whip

Graham cracker crust

Mix cream cheese, pumpkin, sugar, pumpkin spice, and maple flavoring together until nice and smooth with an electric mixer, or with a spoon, or whatever. Add Cool Whip and mix with a spoon.  Pour all you can into the graham cracker crust and chill for about 3 hours.  I would suggest taking the remaining mixture with a big cereal spoon to the couch while you watch your favorite TV show or movie.  If you decide to throw it away then you are a stronger woman (assuming you are a woman) than I could ever be.

Before the cheesecake has chilled. I could eat it just like that, but I know with all my heart it will be worth the wait.

 

This is going to be so delicious. Oh, and I’m sure  Sam will enjoy it..if it survives until tomorrow night. Muahahahahahahaha.

One thought on “Super simple pumpkin cheesecake

Leave a Reply

