Bored at 8am on Thursday

Oh, it’s Thursday!! That means I am another week along in my pregnancy.  Today I am 24 weeks pregnant, so roughly 16 weeks until I get to meet my Sweet Boy.

I was pretty bored this morning.  I was supposed to be reading my assigned readings for the week, but I couldn’t stop thinking of this amazing looking carrot cake that I stumbled upon yesterday.  I know I have made a carrot cake before, but that one was kind of healthy.  This one is just regular ol’ fattening carrot cake. I loved the idea of frosting only in the middle so much that I decided to make one this morning just like it! Well, not just like it. I used a basic carrot cake recipe (which I love) and then just a basic cream cheese frosting recipe. The recipe on her blog just seemed too long and I know the recipe I use never fails. And here is the finished product:

It looks like a lot of frosting in the middle, I know, but I had to make up for no frosting on the top or sides!

 

It tastes just as good as it looks! I baked it for a few minutes too long, but it still turned out amazing. I haven’t baked in my little Japanese oven in about 4 months so I had forgotten the little tweaks I have to make. Anyway, it is homework time for me since I decided to waste to morning making carrot cake. Have a great day, everyone!

Carrot Cake Recipe

4 eggs, beaten

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3 cups finely shredded carrot (lightly packed)

3/4 cups cooking oil

*optional* 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans, toasted

1. Allow eggs to stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, grease two 9 inch round cake pans.

2. Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, and baking soda; set aside.

3. In another bowl combine eggs, carrot, and oil.  Add egg mixture to flour mixture. Stir until combined. Pour batter into the prepared pans. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until cake is done. Cool then frost. Yay!

Cream Cheese Frosting recipe:

8oz. whipped cream cheese (or regular. I use whipped because I like the fluffiness it produces)

1/2 butter, softened

2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

3-6 cups powdered sugar (depending on the consistency you want. 3 1/2 cups gave me the thickness I needed)

1. beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla with an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Gradually beat in powdered sugar one cup at a time until desired consistency is reached.

 

Leave a Reply

