Back to Okinawa – Yard Work

Lordy, that flight was awful. I don’t know why I always try to talk it up like it’s no big deal.  I guess it normally isn’t any big deal, but being almost 6 months pregnant on a 13 hour flight kind of changes things.  Kit and I made it through, though.  We arrived home at about 9:30pm on Saturday night.  None of the outside house lights were on, so it was kind of scary walking up the driveway.  I ran through several spider webs.  I love how Mandi, my friend who picked me up, stayed at the beginning of the driveway until I got through the door. I guess she wanted to make sure I didn’t get eaten by monster spiders first.  Thanks, Mandi! Haha. Just kidding, I really am thankful to her and my other friend Beau for taking care of my house and everything else they did while I was gone.  Anyway, the house was fine, just dusty and there was a little bit of mold downstairs.  Nothing a little bit of 409, bleach, and fabuloso can’t fix! It is back to being it’s immaculate self now.  The yard is a different story.  I did not take “before” pictures, so there is no comparison until I get it looking nice again.  I have cleaned it up, for now.  Did some weed-wacking, tree-trimming, and weed-pulling, but there is still so much to do.  Here are some photos of my (lack of) progress:

 

I need to get some flowers for that little wood bench for some color and get the grass back in good shape.

 

Somehow, I need to clean that wall at the top.

 

My driveway is still looking sad. I need to get a rake and get all those leaves up and trim those trees back a bit.

 

Next project (after the driveway, of course): My Balcony! You can see HERE how pretty my balcony can be. Unfortunately the 2 or 3 typhoons that decided to visit while I was gone didn’t like how it looked, so now it looks like this:

Definitely have to get this cleaned up, pronto!

 

I don't feel too bad about the other balcony since I never got around to beautifying it in the first place.

As you can see, I have so much to do.  I think I will save the hard work for a cooler day and spend today on homework.  Have a great day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

