Soup, Cupcakes, and Mumford & Sons

It has rained every day since Sam left.  The sun tries to peek through in the morning, but aside from that, it’s been hiding from Okinawa. Rainy weather makes me want soup. I would love to have some of my father-in-laws cheesy potato soup, but I opted for a more healthy version of my favorite – Broccoli Cheese Soup. I also made cupcakes for two (the batter makes two cupcakes only! How convenient!)

      

Broccoli Cheese Soup:

1 tlbs butter or olive oil

1/2 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 cups broccoli florets

1 medium sized Yukon Gold potato, diced

2 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth

3/4 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese

1/4 cup buttermilk

salt and pepper

1. Melt butter in large saucepan, add onions and garlic, saute until soft. Add broccoli, potato, and chicken broth, raise heat to high, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer until broccoli and potato are soft, about 10 minutes.

2. Let broccoli mixture cool a little, then transfer to food processor or blender, working in batches if necessary, puree it until smooth. Return soup to saucepan, add cheese and milk. Cook soup over low heat until cheese melts. Don’t let the soup boil. Season with salt and pepper. Top with extra cheese if you  like! Serves about 2 people.

Cupcakes for 2 (adapted from this recipe):

1 egg white

2 tlbs sugar

2 tlbs melted butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut extract

1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp baking flour

pinch of salt

1 1/2 tlbs milk

This is made in one bowl only! How awesome! Mix egg white and sugar together. Add butter and and extract, and mix well. Add flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix just until combined. Stir in milk. Prepare cupcake pan with two cupcake liners. Bake on 350 F for 15 or so minutes.

I topped them with leftover homemade strawberry buttercream frosting from Sam’s goodbye party. The recipe for that is found here. You may use whatever frosting you like!

Now to Mumford & Sons. Who doesn’t love these guys? I came across a lesser-known song by them this afternoon that I fell in love with and have decided to share here. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Soup, Cupcakes, and Mumford & Sons

  1. i also made broccoli cheese soup last night!!!!!! in bread bowls that i made too! i will post the pics and recipe once school is out!

  2. I think I used a similar icing recipe last spring with all the fresh strawberries. It’s my favorite!!
    Love reading your posts!

  3. Oh my gosh Amber. There are many things I miss about you but your cooking is definitely up there! Your pictures look great! I need you home to make this stuff. I could try but we both know I’m bot very good at it…and I’m lazy (thats what she said?).

Leave a Reply

