Whole-wheat Banana Nut Muffins

I’ve done it again! I’ve gone and ignored my blog for a week or two. Sorry, blog. Anyway, I have not been lazy, I’ve been rather busy. Sam is leaving this week so we have his good-bye party. I clean my house every day expecting to get it out of the way for the week, but as soon as Sam enters the room clothes and random things “magically” fall off of the shelves and hop out of the drawers onto the floor. Water and beer bottles begin to congregate in random places in the kitchen, and somehow shoes (even shoes that he hasn’t worn for 6 months!) pile up in the foyer! Even Kit’s toys make their way out of their basket mysteriously. Needless to say, cleaning the house is a never-ending job.

I managed to get the kitchen in pristine condition while Sam was napping today, and decided I wanted some kind of comfort food since it is such a glum day outside. I decided on whole-wheat banana-nut bread muffins.

I just used the basic recipe from my Better Homes and Garden cookbook, cut it in half since I only wanted to make 6 muffins, and replaced the all-purpose flour with whole-wheat flour. I didn’t feel like sprucing anything up today. I’ve been so tired lately. Anyway, here’s the recipe if anyone is interested!

1 cup whole-wheat flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp ground cinnoman

1/16 tsp ground nutmeg

1 egg, beaten

2 mashed bananas

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup cooking oil or melted butter

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease muffin or mini bread pan. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Make a well in center of flour mixture, and set aside.

In another bowl combine eggs, bananas, sugar, and oil. Add egg mixture to flour mixture and mix until moistened but still lumpy. Fold in walnuts.  Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean near the center.

Have a good day, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Whole-wheat Banana Nut Muffins

  1. Pingback: Hard-Place Potato Soup | sarajoredlocks

Leave a Reply

