The Next Couple of Weeks

Sam is leaving in the next few weeks. I won’t be Sad Panda until after he leaves,though. We have to make the most of the time we have left together, right?! Gosh, it’s been so long since he’s deployed (2 years. Yeah, I guess I’m a spoiled Marine Corp spouse, right?Ha.).  It’s been really neat to watch life slow down in the past day, though. What I mean by that is, Sam and I have sunk so far into our own routine together that we forget to stop and savor every moment, but as soon as I found out he was leaving yesterday, I just felt like everything needed to slow down. Forget our routine and just be together and enjoy each others company.

I am typing this as I sit in my living room with the windows open and the breeze running through my house. One of my favorite Jack Johnson songs is playing in the background. I love it so much because there is a verse that reminds me of me and Sam when we first started dating. I’m hoping these last few weeks that we have together can be spent this way:

We can park the van and walk to town

Find the cheapest bottle of wine that we could find

And talk about the road behind, how getting lost is not a waste of time.

Le Bois d’amour will take us home

In the moment we will sing as the forest sings

It’s all for the sake of arriving with you.

What You Though You Need, Jack Johnson

Apologies for all of the mushiness! Oh and a very Happy Birthday to my lovely sister and her honey-pie, Jamesy!

This photo was taken a few days before Sam left on his last deployment...a LOOOONG time ago.

3 thoughts on “The Next Couple of Weeks

  1. Awww! I know you don’t like talking about sad things and always try to stay on the positive side but I do feel for you my friend. How long will he be gone this time?
    By the way this blog, although a little sad was very pretty because of your love for Sam shining through it. Anytime you feel down write me a silly message and if I’m awake I will write you back right away 🙂

  2. Aww. That is sad, but remember, you and Kit are always welcome at our house!!! Rosie would LOVE a playmate for a few months. haha.
    And HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!!! and James…

Leave a Reply

