I’ve Been Bad..or Maybe Just Lazy

Wow, I can’t believe that I haven’t posted anything in over a week! I don’t know what has gotten into me..or out, I guess. Well, nothing new here on the homefront. Sam and I had a pretty nice and relaxing weekend. Friday was spent with friends, up all night, playing dance central and catch phrase. Saturday I went with the girls to catch some rays on the seawall and Sam went geocaching with the boys. That night we had nice dinner at the cutest little restaurant on the seawall, then more catch phrase.Sunday was devoted to Kit since we spent most of the weekend away from the house. Poor baby dog..he was lonely. I made the yummiest stew last night. I never make stew..don’t really like it, but when I came across a recipe for Moroccan Fish Tagine I said to myself, “Self, it is time that you like stew, because this stew looks amazing.” So needless to say, I instantly liked stew enough to try this recipe. I served it along side some couscous that I spiced up with garlic, cilantro, and lemon juice.

I had to use my Instagram app since my camera was M.I.A.

Recipe:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 yellow onion, chopped

1 yellow bell pepper, seeded and diced

1 garlic clove, minced

2 tomatoes, peeled and seeded, then diced

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon paprika

4 cups chicken stock, or vegetable stock

1 1/4lb red snapper or sea bass fillets, cut into 3/4 inch cubes

1 cup thinly sliced white mushrooms

2 tablespoons tahini (I used natural peanut butter with a couple drops of sesame seed oil

1 tablespoon lemon zest

1 tablespoon finely chopped flat-leaf parsley

1 tablespoon finely chopped cilantro

salt

In a large saucepan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion and bell pepper, saute until soft, not brown. Add garlic and tomatoes, saute until tomatoes are tender. Stir in cumin and paprika and simmer for about a minute.

Carefully pour in the stock, raise heat to high and bring to a boil. Add fish and mushrooms. When mixture returns to a boil, reduce heat to low. Simmer until the fish is opaque throughout, about 3 minutes.

Stir in tahini, lemon zest, parsley, and cilantro. Ladle into individual bowls and serve immediately! Yummy! Oh, season with salt as much as you like…haha

Anyway, I want to keep things short here so I will close with this adorable link I stumbledupon the other day.

Awesome Book of Thanks

This is probably the cutest children’s book that I have ever seen. Of course, I wish the “thanks” were going to God, but other than that, it’s cute. It re-inspired me to start writing children’s stories again! Why did I ever stop?

3 thoughts on “I’ve Been Bad..or Maybe Just Lazy

  1. Wow that does sound like a nice relaxing weekend. I have a question though, what is geocaching? And as for your children’s books, at least the stories you made at GSC, they were a little unorthodox hahaha. I will end this comment with – miss you my friend!

    • SARAH!! Geocaching is sort of like a scavenger hunt, but you use a GPS. It’s really fun and you can do it there in Louisville! As far the Children’s books go, you are right, those stories were a little unconventional. I am aiming for a more eccentric audience…haha. Miss you too BFFF!

  2. i have been lazy too. nothing new to write about here! but i should finish this blanket soon, if i ever work on it….

Leave a Reply

