Pan-Braised Onions with Rosemary

I sure have been posting an awful lot of food posts lately. I guess I’m not really doing much else at the moment since my sewing table won’t be here until Sunday.  I went to Nitori, sort of a Japanese Ikea but way smaller, and I found the perfect sewing table, but they were fresh out at the store. Oh well, gives me more time to get motivated to finally finish this! Other than that, I have been working on an afghan-throw for my chair in the living room. I started on it last July and am not even halfway finished.

Sam is gone for the next three days so I don’t have to cook breakfast or dinner until he gets back! That gives me plenty of time to work on these poor projects that I have been ignoring. But first I have to tell you about my favorite side dish in the entire universe. I got it from my Mayo Clinic Cookbook and it was one of the first things I ever cooked for Sam. The recipe swears that it serves 4, however I find that I sometimes need to double it to serve the two of us. It’s kind of an odd side dish, but if you love onions and balsamic vinegar you’ll wonder why you never thought of this before!

You will need:

1 tablespoon EVOO

2 lb. yellow onions, halved lengthwise and cut crosswise into slices 1/4 inch thick

2 teaspoons minced fresh rosemary

1 bay leaf

1/4 cup vegetable stock, or dry white wine

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

salt and freshly ground pepper

1. In a large saute pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add onions, minced rosemary, and bay leaf.

2. Reduce the heat to very low, cover tightly, and cook, stirring occasionally until the onions are tender and begin to turn golden, about 30 minutes. If the onions start to stick, just add a couple more tablespoons of the veggie stock.

3. Add the vegetable stock and bring to simmer. Cook until the stock evaporates completely, about 5 minutes. Add balsamic vinegar and simmer until the liquid is completely absorbed, about 5 minutes longer. Season with salt and pepper.

My mouth is watering looking at this picture. Soooooooo good.

I served these onions along side Rosemary pork chops, a healthy salad with homemade vinaigrette, and a nice glass of Red Bicyclette Syrah. Yummy!

Okay, I’m off fetch some cheese, wine, and a few good movies to get me through these next three nights without my Samuel.

4 thoughts on “Pan-Braised Onions with Rosemary

  1. Although I’m not a fan of onions, this dish sounds good…until I see the finished product ha ha then it reminds me of something you might dig up out of the mud. Hahaha but good food doesn’t always look good. Be sure and take a picture of the sewing table once you get it!

  2. Pingback: Rosemary chicken and potatoes | The General Specific

Leave a Reply

