Wool Sunrise Afghan

I made a blanket similar to this for my sister-in-law, Sarah, for Christmas, and my mother-in-law loved it so much that she wanted one of her own.  The pattern that was used for Sarah’s blanket can be found here. Unfortunately I did not take any photos of the blanket before it was wrapped but it looks just like the picture on the link.  I changed Debbie’s blanket up a bit by adding an extra color (Natural) and using a different crochet pattern.  I also added a border with the Natural color after it was finished.

This picture is what inspired the name of the afghan.

I started on it at the beginning of January and just finished it yesterday.  I could have probably finished it about 2 weeks if I had worked on it every day.  Unfortunately I am craft-ADD and need to do two or three projects at one time.

I thought it needed something else, so I added this border. It only took about 5 minutes.

Here’s how I did it:

Yarn: Lion Brand Fisherman’s Wool

Colors: (B)Natural, (A)Oatmeal, (D)Nature’s Brown, and (C)Oak Tweed – 2 skeins of each color

Crochet Hook: H-8

You’ll also need a large-eye blunt needle to sew the blocks together.

Squares (A, B, C, & D):

Ch 38

Row 1: Turn, Sc(2 Dc) in 2nd chain from hook, *skip next 2 chains, Sc(2 Dc) in next ch. Repeat from * 10 more times. Sc in last ch.

Row 2: Ch 1, Sc(2 Dc) in 1st ch. *Skip next 2 sts. Sc(2 Dc) in next st (sc space). Repeat from * 10 more times. Sc in last ch.

Repeat row two 22 more times (24 rows total). Fasten off. Square should measure about 9 inches wide and 8 inches long. Make 8 Natural, and Oatmeal squares and 7 Oak Tweed and Nature’s Brown (30 total squares).

When you have finished all of the squares and are ready to sew them together lay them out like this:

A B C D A

B C D A B

C D A B C

D A B C D

A B C D A

B C D A B

Then just sew the squares together with the large-eye blunt needle using one of the colors of yarn (I used Oatmeal). I hate this part the most. It doesn’t take too much time to sew them together (a day for me) but it feels like an eternity. Try to weave in the ends that are sticking out of the squares when you are sewing them together.

For the border, I just single-crocheted all the way around using the Natural color. You can add whatever border you think looks nice, or none at all for a more raw look. Have fun – and finish the afghan for goodness’ sake! If you’re like me, then you needed that last line.

**Update**
I was reading back on past posts and I found this post. It has a link to basically the same pattern that I used for this blanket.

2 thoughts on “Wool Sunrise Afghan

Leave a Reply

