My Future Balcony Garden

Just one short week until Sam and I leave Louisville for our home in Japan! I am very excited to get back home for a number of reasons:

1. I really need to get reacquainted with my fellow EOD wives

2. No more cold weather!

3. Sam and I get back to our “nesting” phase that was so rudely interrupted by his military training

4. I finally get to (re)start my herb garden and get started on my veggie garden!

I am most excited for #4! I have been Stumbling on my garden channel all morning looking for clever ways to grow veggies and herbs in small places, like my balcony, and also in pots. I also want to begin composting since I am aiming for an all organic and earth friendly garden.  I was raised on a farm where my grandparents grew most of their fruits and veggies (all organically), so I feel like starting my own garden is only natural, and something I was meant to do. I think I will start my herb garden off with cilantro, rosemary, basil, italian parsley, dill, oregano, sage, and thyme. I will probably add chives, garlic, shallots, and mint in a few months. I think I will start my veggie garden with beefsteak tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, sweet potatoes, bell peppers, eggplant…I’m going to try snap-beans and carrots, but it may be too warm in Okinawa. I’M SO EXCITED!!! As you can see, I am very eager to get started on this new project. Okay, I’m going to go read more fun articles on turning my dogs poop into plant food. Have a great weekend!

I am in love with this idea for my balcony. *growbetterveggies.com*

5 thoughts on “My Future Balcony Garden

  1. Awww Amber the gardens sound really cool and yummy ( except the dog poo part). I can’t wait to see pictures of them and the cute little garden picture above is just perfect. I will ignore all the great things about going back to Japan even though I know your excited I’m staying selfish and wishing you were staying here! Hahaha

    • You can grow herbs inside! Just put them by the window so they can get some light. I think you can grow potatoes too. If you get a grow lamp, then you can grow tomatoes and lots of food!

  2. Pingback: My *Present* Balcony Garden « The General Specific

Leave a Reply

