A Warm Tuesday in February

It is mid-February and about 55 degrees F outside. The sun is setting, a few windows are open and I’ve been outside all day with Kit and Spanky chasing a deflated basketball around the yard. We have probably 40 good dog toys laying around and they want to play with that yucky thing. Anyway, spring will be here soon! Too bad I will not be here in Kentucky to enjoy it. We leave March 4th to go back to Okinawa, and while I am delighted that I get to live in my own house again with my husband, I am very sad to be leaving my Momma, Daddy, my in-laws, and my friends. Sam should be deploying towards the end of the year now, so I should be back here around that time.
Yesterday I got a nice surprise from my husband! Well, it really wasn’t a surprise. You see, Sam is not good with surprises. I was on Skype with him Saturday night and he was clearly not paying attention to my picture on the screen. Instead he was keenly searching for the right bouquet. I know this because he kept asking, “do you like teddy bears?” “do you like roses?” “hey, do you like lilies?”. It was cute, but incredibly conspicuous. Hopefully, as the years go by, he will learn to be more covert when it comes to Valentine’s Day. My Momma also surprised me with some flowers. Thanks, Momma!

My sister left for England last Friday night to go live with her soon-to-be husband, Jamesy-poo. They have a cute little house in Buckinghamshire, I believe. Sam and I are planning a visit there this summer, so I am not too broken hearted that she is gone. My Momma, on the other hand, is a mess. It doesn’t help that her dog, a 12 year old shi-poo, is about to kick the bucket either. Oh, and it also doesn’t help that her other daughter, yours truly, will be leaving the country in two weeks. Poor Momma.
Welp, here are a few pictures of my beautiful flowers and Kit, oh and the new puppy Keiko.

Flowers from my Valentine

Kitsune, sticking his tongue out at me.

Baby Keiko...I think he has puppy drool on his nose.

Oh, and one more thing..a bit of an embarrassing story. I had to stay the night at my Momma’s house last night since she wanted to stay at her boyfriends house. I had to watch her dying dog, Chester. Anyway, I brought along a yummy bottle of Cono Sur Pinot Noir for my Valentine’s Day entertainment and sleeping aid. I was trying to open the bottle with one of those old-timey corkscrews, you know, the one that looks like a man doing jumping jacks with a swirly appendage that pops out…these are awful corkscrews. Everyone who still has one of these should throw it away immediately. The corkscrew broke my cork in two, and I was trying to get the other half out with a knife. I had my face over the bottle to see in when the knife pushed the cork all the way down into the bottle and about half a glass of wine exploded in my face. I learned that wine does, in fact, burn when it gets into your eyes. I think I was mostly upset, though, that I was wearing a good amount of my wine. Oh well, at least I was alone so no one could laugh at me.

3 thoughts on “A Warm Tuesday in February

  1. hahaha. nice amber… i wish i could have been there to laugh at you. of course, if i was there, i would have been watching poor chester and you would be at robert and debbie’s with a decent corkscrew…
    im so excited you are coming to visit!!!! i wish it was sooner though! and for longer.

Leave a Reply

