Mommy’s Birthday!

I firmly believe that one should learn something new every day.  Today I learned that a paraprosdokian is a figure of speech, often used for humorous or dramatic effects,  in which the last part of the sentence or phrase is so surprising or unexpected that it makes you have to rethink the whole of what you were just told.  Example: I’ve had a wonderful day, but this wasn’t it.  OR I used to be indecisive, now I’m not sure.  I’m sure I knew “in my head” those types of phrases had a name…and today I learned it!

By the way, I did put “in my head” in quotation marks for a reason.  I wanted to come back to it.  I hear people say this all of the time, but what does that mean? I mean, where else would you know something besides in your head? I’m pretty sure your uvula doesn’t have a brain or store information. The only place you really know things is in your own head, right?

Today was Momma’s 41st birthday.  May I just stop and say that my mother, Carol Jean, looks amazing for 41.  I think I am going to insert a picture now to prove my point:

My mother is the one in the gray dress, and the other lovely lady is my mother-in-law, Debbie, who is also very beautiful! I have been blessed with Hot Mommas. So anyway, today was mother’s birthday.  I made dinner for her (sweet and sticky drumsticks, one of Sam’s favorites..from Giada) and got her a piece of pumpkin cheesecake and a piece of red velvet cheesecake, which we all shared.  And Stephy and I got her a new TV, since her ex husband took the nice new one.  My poor mom had no idea what she was giving up! She’s been watching TV on a 1995 RCA for the past year.

Mom gave me Brett’s (baby bro) Halloween costume to alter today.  I mentioned in an earlier post that my crafty side has been pretty absent since I’ve been home, but lately it’s been poking it’s head through with my random crocheting projects.  Well, as soon as I sat down at the sewing table and ran that fabric through the serger, it all came back to me.  The second my foot pressed down on that peddle, I said to myself, “Self, I want to sew something!”  So for the past couple of hours I have been searching Burda Style, assorted sewing blogs, and Threadbanger for something…anything so sew! I’m so excited! I will go to Joann’s tomorrow to get some new fabric…I have this awesome jersey knit shirt/dress in mind.

So my husband finally read this thing last night.  I got an email at, like, 3am informing me that he had made a comment…I almost fell out of my bed.  I didn’t know my husband knew how to read! Haha..just kidding.  But really..I think he said “I decided to read your blog because I missed you so much”…REALLY??! Is that the only reason? How about..because my wife talks about me in her blog…Or because I want to know what is going on in my wife’s life…Or because you are my wife and you are typing! If Samuel kept a blog, I would be subscribed to it and would probably check it 16 times a day, you know, just in case any new post didn’t get through to my email fast enough.  I am glad that he finally decided to read it.  Oh, and our Thanksgiving plans have changed AGAIN – this time they have changed to SUPER AWESOME! Instead of Hawaii, we get to go to LA with Debbie and Roberto and Sarah and Eric!! I am so excited that Sam gets to spend Thanksgiving with his family.  My dad is going to kill me for not coming to Florida, but this opportunity is totally worth dying for.

2 thoughts on “Mommy’s Birthday!

  1. I totally agree…both of your mommas are so super pretty and just fabulous!! I’m excited your getting together with your fam in Cali for Thanksgiving!!! Thats not so far away. Have fun, which I am sure you will with such fun people.

Leave a Reply

