“Kokekokkoo” or “Cock-a-doodle-doo!”

So, I have a week off before I start another class and I have decided to spend it learning more Japanese! So far I have just been brushing up on the hiragana and katakana AND I have learned a few kanji.  Today I Stumbledupon (which is an AWESOME website if you normally become bored on the web, like me) a Japanese onomatopoeia lesson here that I thought was really cute..and interesting.  I guess I never really thought about the animal sounds, or just sounds in general that english speaking people use…I kind of thought everyone had the same sounds.  After all, cows only speak cow and doorbells really only go “ding-dong”.  Anyway, it was cool and worth taking a quick look at.  I am hoping to be able to carry on a short Japanese conversation by the time I go back and be able to read enough to figure out what store signs say.

I’m at my Dad’s house in Florida this week.  I love my family, but this place is soooooooo boring.  Jamesy and Stephy left this morning to go to Orlando and Titusville to put flowers on Mawmaw’s grave.  I had to stay behind because I brought Kitsune along on this trip.  He is so freaked out by the goats.  So now I’m sitting on a farm in the middle of nowhere Florida while my dad watches 20 year old re-runs of In Living Color.  Like I said, I am very grateful to get to see him and Deanna and my grandparents, but I will be glad to get home to my BFF Sarah!! Oh, and Roberto and Debbie, of course. I’m sure they are missing their cook. 😉

Oh, and Sam is in Hawaii and I have jealously running through my veins.  Lucky dog.

Leave a Reply

